We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is round the corner to the station and the the town centre is a stones throw away. Excellent location!

Rooms: The beds are a nice size, too big for single but not quite a double. The toilet and bathroom in my room were separate l. One bed was very close to the bathroom so slighty awkward to go on there without disturbing person in that bed. Tiny wardrobe for two people to share! The rooms are very clean and ours had a both bath and a separate shower.

The hotel staff were friendly. There's a wii and an xbox for free use. In the brealfast area there are twk dining tables with tvs and headphones.

Breakfast was a buffet so a good way for you to decide what and how much you want. The continental breakfast has cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, juices and tea/coffee. Breakfast was included for our booking but I noticed the price for this, which I felt was extortionate, at £16.45 and to make this worse you could upgrade to include a fry up for £3 extra! If you aren't prepared for pay this, there are lots of cafes and restaurants around.

The swimming pool was lovely. Not massive but also has a sauna and steam room. They kindly provide towels for swimmers so no need to bring your own.

I can't comment on the pricing of the hotel as it was part of a pre-paid hen package.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jeminem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Novotel in Reading. Kind regards, Magda Fohue, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I am a very fussy Brit and I thought this Hotel was perfect for a weekend in Reading. Rooms are clean and of a good size for this type of hotel. There was also a Sofa which was great for reading and watching tv without having to sit on the bed. Bathroom door not a big issue and had bath and separate shower which was nice. Did have the breakfast once but only because of the half price weekend offer. It was very good but probably would not pay the full price. All the staff were friendly and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable. So close to shops and restaurants its the ideal location for the town and very near the station. Nice little swimming pool in basement.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 835david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you had a good stay. I will certainly share your feedback regarding the staff with the team here. We hope to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future.

Regards

Stuart Cox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose the Novotel because it was close to Reading station where we were being picked up for a wedding and I didn't want to walk far in somewhat inappropriate shoes! Check in was super fast and efficient. We initially found getting around the hotel a little tricky as you need to use your room key to operate the lifts and access the car park but, having realised that this is all in the name of safety, we had no complaints. The rooms are well appointed but we did wonder why the lavatory was situated just inside the door, whilst the bathroom was in the centre of the room, meaning it was a bit of a trek around in order to wash hands in the middle of the night. The bed was extremely comfortable and the window opened - a big plus. The ironing board was useful and we appreciated having free wifi - so many hotels make an extra charge for this so, very well done Novotel. The car park was small but we did find a space, although I could see that you might not always be that lucky. However, there is an NCP just across the road.

Breakfast was excellent, with an impressive variety on offer, and it was replenished regularly. Everything was well prepared and presented and very tasty - no budget sausages here! We used the bar once and whilst it was quiet and minimalist, it was a pleasant enough area and the service was good. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, it was very handy for the shopping centre and local restaurants. It was very comfortable and clean. The hotel itself was quiet at night but there was some noise coming up from the surrounding streets, although this is only to be expected in a large town. We've stayed in several Novotels and would most definitely seek the chain out in future. For the price we paid it was exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here as I know it will act as encouragement to everyone.

Regards
Stuart Cox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Having stayed at a few hotels in the Reading area I have now settled on the Novotel primarily because it's just a 3 minute walk to the Railway Station. It's not a cheap place to stay, but Reading isn't a cheap place at all. The rooms are great, well laid out and with a good standard of fitment, much as you would expect from a chain like Accor. The staff here are great, they have been really quick to resolve any issues that I have had. Food in the restaurant is good and consistent and the bar is busy but with good service. One the downside, one of the lifts wasn't working and the carpark is small and cramped (I think you can prebook a space). Breakfast is very comprehensive and of a good quality. It's not in a great area being just away from the main street, but being so close to the station you cant complain. Overall, great hotel, great staff.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nismo350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words, which I will certainly share with the team here.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Stuart Cox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Clean and comfortable room with a great shower and deep bath. We got a good advance deal on the executive room, and the breakfast was decent. Customer service excellent too. Downsides - running out of cutlery and mugs at breakfast and above all, and only 2 out of 3 lifts running. Unfortunately we were on the 10th out of 13 floors and the lifts put us off trying out the basement swimming pool. However it was a good base for 2 legs of our walk along the Thames Path, and extremely handy for Reading station.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and am sorry that one of our lifts had to be taken out of service for repair while you were here. It is of course now back in service.

Regards
Stuart Cox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,908 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing