We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2010

lovely hotel had a very nice time breakfast very good parking at hotel a bit expensive .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbugEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

Thank you to the management and staff of the Novotel for making my time in Reading so enjoyable!
I currently travel to my company's Reading office every week and this hotel has become my second home. Everything from the friendly attentive service to the comfortable rooms and beds, make these business trips more of a pleasure than a chore.
Keep up the good work!

Tim

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonArmyBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear Tim,
Thank you for taking the time to share your many experiences with us – the team and I are delighted that you always enjoy staying with us. I am confident that this will continue as long as you will be working and staying in Reading. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We were amazed at how good the Hotel was at the excellent price we paid. Stayed there on Saturday night to visit our daughter at Reading University, we would not normally stay at a city centre Hotel so encountered one of the few downsides of the Hotel which we had never experienced before on other breaks, the parking! It was ok if you left the car in the NCP and didn't move it but as we had to go to collect our daughter and back and then drop her off and back the parking had to be paid each time so really added up together with the £10 overnight fee. The other downside was that it was so hot everywhere, the windows have safety wires so can only be opened an inch or so and blow closed anyway and the cooling setting for the room is useless. I hardly slept as it felt like a sauna in the room.
All this aside as most Hotels always seem unreasonably hot, the Hotel was really lovely, very modern, extremely clean in all areas and very centrally placed for Reading town centre. It was a shame that the Restaurant for some strange reason does not open on a Friday or Saturday night, food served in the Bar area only otherwise we would have eaten there but breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Great selection and the food never ran out on the hot buffet so not that nightmare queue for eggs!
Husband and two daughters used the swimming pool and said was smallish but good. To be honest we couldn't believe our luck with the choice of the Novotel. Will definitely use again when we visit our daughter.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thank you very much for your good review - delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I stayed in Novotel Hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is in the city center very close to the railway station and bus station for Thames Valley Park.
The rooms was large, very nice bathroom both shower and bath tub. The breakfast had everything from cereals and eggs to sausages and beams. The staff was very helpful.
If you need internet in your room you need to pay, otherwise there is a computer in the lobby with free access to internet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadalinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thanks for your good review. I'm glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a traing course at the nearby railway station. I can only echo the positives from previous reviewers. I found the staff pleasant, facilities excellent (must use the pool, sauna & steam room) & rooms and public areas including the restaurant very nice. Throughout the hotel standards of cleanliness are excellent and the whole place has a very nice ambience. I enjoyed the food served at both breakfast & dinner, a high quality of ingredients were evident. Overall an excellent stay. One very minor criticism which I believe has been mentioned previously, the in room AC didnt work too well. My room was on the warm side and despite turning the thermo to 10C there was no real change in temperature. Speaking with other guests this appeared to be a common theme, one which the hotel management may wish to address.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here as well. We really value your feedback. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel and used the conference facilities and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The staff couldn't be more helpful with an early check-in and going the extra mile to look after us. The room was clean an modern and had all the things you would expect for a city centre hotel. The receptions staff very pleasant and efficient too. I would use this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
Thank madmountaingoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I have stayed at this hotel about ten times and thought it was about time I posted a review.

Overall, this is a good business hotel in the centre of town with very few surprises. Arrival is easy – providing you come on foot, or use train/bus. Parking at the hotel is limited to about 4 spaces, the backup is an NCP to the rear of the hotel which is less than appealing. If you’re in Reading on business you shouldn’t bring a car – the traffic is a nightmare, as is parking. Best to come on the train and walk around the town centre or get the bus out to the Thames Valley Business Park. If you prefer to drive, stay at a hotel outside the centre.

About the hotel: it’s fairly new and not yet showing any major signs of decay. Check-in is normally well staffed with no queue. The rooms are of a fair size and well decorated. There is a separate WC, which can be a little tight and a bath/shower room behind the bath, with a separate shower cubicles. The shower pressure has been good in all the rooms I have stayed in and the bathroom in good order with the usual shampoos, soaps etc. The towels are still fluffy!

Beds are comfortable and there is a good work area with swing out desk area and wifi in the rooms. There is a small mini bar with beers and soft drinks. There is an off licence next door, if you can manage the walk to save a few £££.

Breakfast is a buffet and a cut above the usual quality in hotels – maybe it’s the French ownership, but the food is of a higher standard and well prepared. There are a couple of tables for TV addicts with a TV screen and headphones, so you can watch the breakfast news whilst munching your cornflakes.

The location means that a lot of shopping and eating is on your doorstep – good if you’re in town for a couple of days.

The only downside is that is it a little characterless – but sometimes consistency is better than chacter.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AONE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovoReading, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jean-Philippe Kern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing