We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool room in a hot times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    459
    187
    57
    35
See reviews for
93
215
148
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this hotel because of its location. It is just next to Novotel Reading and few shops to Sainsbury and convenient stores. Less than 10 mins walk to Oracle, John Lewis, M&S and many more shops. We had a double room with additional sofa bed which is really uncomfortable due to its size. Our room 901 is facing the street and it is noisy during the night time. We paid for breakfast which is good and wide selection of choice. The hotel imposed additional charges for storage of luggage due to it being busy during the period of our stay which we felt rather unfair because as a repeat customer they should have offer a complimentary storage to our family as we have booked two rooms for 2 nights stay. Wifi is chargeable both in lobby and in the room but you may have a good chance of getting a free wifi connection of Novotel which is just right next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Dina Ho,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your stay at Ibis Reading.
I am pleased to inform you that we have now free Wifi connection throughout the hotel.
Best wishes,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very pleasant hotel and stay. Although we arrived early, we were able to access our room (we had only anticipated leaving luggage and checking in later). Room very high quality and probably recently refurbished. En-Suite very luxurious. The location is ideal for railway station (short walk) and city centre. We chose a room on 2nd top floor - better for noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jackwilson131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Jack Wilson
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Hotel Reading Centre.
Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed overnight to attend our daughter's graduation.Clean and tidy throughout. Good full breakfast. Good staff. TV was a bit hit and miss but that's a minor point. Excellent bed. Cash machine next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pno2nr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Ibis Hotel Reading Centre!
We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I recently stayed with a friend as we were coming up from Hertfordshire for a weekend in Reading, I made the booking on the 25th May with booking.com 6 weeks before our stay.

When we checked in we were told that there were no more twin rooms left, even though the room was booked 6 weeks ago, I was told I was contacted about it but I never received any phone calls or an email. Then I was told because I booked it with Booking.com that they could not guarentee a room was going to be availble unless I booked it direct on the Ibis website which I find is very hard to beleive as there would never be any point advertising on booking.com with that attuitude.

We were offered at the time free breakfast which really made no help to us, As we had no other alternative accommodation we had to take the room at a reduced rate, so we had to use that money to buy a sleeping bag as we did not feel comfortable for 2 grown men to share a double bed, we also asked if there was a change for bedding or a mattress could be spare to be in our room, but this request was not available. I find it a disgrace that we were staying at a hotel to offer the purpose of a comfortable night sleep for the original price of £76. Then to top it all off there was no hot water in the morning, so we could not even have a shower or wash ourselves properly.

I have stayed in Ibis hotels in the past in other areas and have been pleased with the overall stay, but this was not pleasing at all from the moment we walked in to the hotel to check in, it was a nightmare.

It was not the kind of hotel I expected in this day of age.

Room Tip: Make sure to confirm you have a room before you make a journey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis Hotel Reading Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. WE ave indeed a limited number of rooms with 2 separate beds, and those need booking far in advance. I personnally looked into this matter, and would like to reassure you that my team was reretrained in how to deal with this matter. In the meantime please but feel free to contact me on 01189 533 500 to discuss this further. Kind regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Property: Ibis Reading Centre
Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing