We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2008

This is a great hotel with a fabulous location, just one block from the main train station at Reading and one street away from the main town centre pedestrian-only road. The rooms are a good size for the money that you pay, and are nice and clean and tidy. We had our toddler son with us who stayed in the pull-down 3rd bed which was still comfortable and fitted within the room without making it too crowded.

Don't expect the Hilton though, these rooms are relatively basic but are great for somewhere to crash and to base yourself from when exploring the area.

We had a room on the 11th floor, facing away from the main entrance, which meant we had a bit of noise from the riverside area where all the pubs where, but it was a weekend night so that's to be expected. I wouldn't want to be too much lower however, especially if you are a light sleeper or have a child with you. The locals do tend to party until late into the wee hours.

The room we had experienced some problems with the drain in the shower but the reception staff moved us straight away once we bought it to their attention and nothing was too much bother.

Great value for money in a great location within Reading.

Note about Reading: pretty town centre with loads of great shops and a wonderful mall and resturant area (Riverside) but don't expect too much before 11am! The whole town is still asleep until then in the weekends and the weekdays aren't a whole lot better! Nice place to base yourself from instead of London though - and a whole lot cheaper!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 3Kiwiflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed during the bank holiday weekend for Reading festival - no camping for us!! The rooms and hotel in general were spotless, with a fantastic pod-like walk in shower.

We were on the 11th floor and the noise from the road is pretty loud with the window open. Fortunately it wasn't too warm (~20C) as the air-con wasn't great, but with the window shut all was lovely and peaceful.

The location was fantastic, less than 15 minutes walk to the festival site and right in the centre of town for shops and bars and the station is just around the corner. Parking at the nearby NCP was £28 for a weekly pass or I think £16 a day through the hotel.

Would definitely stay there again, although they had hiked the prices up quite significantly. ..We paid £90 room only instead of the normal £52.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I stayed here with a friend for the Reading Festival (got a good rate by booking very, very early!) and we both thought it a very nice hotel. The room was smart and comfortable, the staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Very good location too. The only downside as far as I could see was that there was a step up into the ensuite shower room with a raised metal strip across the bottom of the doorway which could very easily be tripped over if you weren't careful. But the bathroom itself was fine and the shower was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Stayed two nights during a business trip to London. I'd agree with everything said about the hotel so far - new, clean, great location. It was what was said here that attracted me to the hotel in the first place. Even with the added expense of rail travel to London it was still cheaper than a grotty b&b in Paddington.

I reserved my room earlier this year and printed out the confirmation notice which clearly said the price of the room was £52 for Sunday and £69 for Monday night. Imagine my surprise to be told on check-in the price had risen to £75 and, "because there was an event on", there was an additional £20 on top of that per night. They wanted £190 for two nights instead of £121.

The event turned out to be the Farnborough Air Show which was taking place 20 miles away. Hardly round the corner.

I showed the clerk the confirmation but she was adamant. I was equally pretty sure the confirmation note made that a binding contract. In the end common sense prevailed and I paid the agreed price. BUt I paid there and then and spent not another penny in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Speedbird116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights while visiting Royal Ascot. Rooms spotlessly clean , quiet and perfectly adequate for a coupleof nights away. In perfect location although we had a problem finding it due to noentry and one way streets. Friendly traffic warden sent us correct way eventually. Car Park a couple of mins away. Expensive at £16 perday but you can buy a pass from the pay machine for £28 which allows unlimited access for 7 days so if you'll be there more than 24 hours it works out cheaper.
Station a couple of mins away which stops at Ascot so was really convenient to get to the course, probably easier (and much cheaper) than staying in Ascot itself.
Overall we have a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Great hotel, nice and new. Great location no need to get taxis. Downside this hotel has no parking! There is an NCP 5 mins walk away. Would not bother with breakfast as £7.50 is a bit steep, there is a Macdonalds a few doors down.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dannny_boy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights in late March 08, following an unpleasant stay at another B&B in Reading.

This is a very comfortable hotel, large double bed, good shower, and clean. It provides all the basic hotel facilities for a business stay, but not luxury.

For the location it is super convenient, right in the town centre, just 3 mins walk to the train station. Lots of restauant, pub, supermarket, fast food shop nearby.

I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank machk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £38 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing