We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good location, but way too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good location, but way too hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staff really friendly on the front desk. Very clean and great location. But the heat in the room was horrible. As they don't have air conditioning (they use an air cooling system) we had to get a fan from downstairs but it didn't make a difference. It made it very difficult to sleep and we lodged a complaint (I've never taken the time to complain about a hotel before).

A real shame as otherwise it would have been great - prices of drinks really reasonable, and rooms quite spacious for a budget hotel.

It might have been that we were given the top floor, so I suggest if you do book, ask for a lower ground floor in case it was because of the heat rising to the top.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tripsterj
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review.
It is indeed the rooms on the higher floors are much hotter than the ones below. We would be more than happy to move you should it be requested.
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    451
    184
    56
    34
See reviews for
91
213
147
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on business, ibis is bang in centre where everything is, hotel was clean and basic but great for price, only problem i had was very few choices on menu and i had to collect on tray from reception and try and get it to my room without spilling a beer on my pizza!, had a nice stay

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeeMarshall1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Lee Marshall
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

An excellent budget hotel very near the railway station and central for all shops and pubs.

The room was simply furnished but very comfortable. The bed was amazing, with some sort of special mattress topper that made for a great night's sleep. The shower room was one of those pod things that is just installed in the corner of the bedroom, that features in a lot of budget hotels in France. It functioned perfectly and the water pressure in the shower was great.

We never ate in the hotel there so can't comment on the food in the restaurant. Nor did we drink in the ground-floor bar as there were plenty of pubs within the vicinity.

The staff were pleasant and helpful.

What we did really like was that guests needed to use their room "key" (which was like a credit card) to go up the bedroom floors or to use the ground-floor toilets; this level of security is very much appreciated in a town-centre environment.

We parked our car in a nearby multi-storey car park for which the hotel provided a resident's discount.

We will certainly use this hotel again, and my five-star review is not to say that it is a five-star hotel, but to indicate that the hotel is five-star within its price-bracket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneDubruille, General Manager at Ibis Reading Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Janet G
Thank you very much fo your comments. It is great to read such a fantastic comments as yours, and me and my team are glad you had a nice visit in Reading.
We hoep to welcome you again soon,
Best regards
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Property: Ibis Reading Centre
Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing