We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what it says on the tin budget!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Reading Centre
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
falmouth cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what it says on the tin budget!”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My husband was here for business and I went along for pleasure. The hotel was clean. Beds very uncomfortable, plyboard with a matress on top! Staff helpful. Wish we had gone to weatherspoons for breakfast. Wouldn't stay in an ibis again Priemier inn much much nicer for about the same price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis_k32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    458
    186
    57
    35
See reviews for
92
215
148
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Excellent Hotel in terms of ambience, Cleanliness, Location ( Right in centre of town centre) & cost. You will not not get better hotel in the same are in same cost with fascilties they have

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PrashantS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I booked the hotel on a promotion so was £35 for the night which I thought was good value for money. The hotel was clean & everything you needed was there- you know what you get with Ibis which was partly the reason I booked it
Good things-
*Convenient location
* modern, clean
* good price

Bad things-
*Room was really hot & Air con rubbish- so had to have the window open overlooking what sounded like the noisiest street in the World til 4am Sunday morning! hardly got any sleep!
* I remembered also why I rarely book Ibis- impossibly hard bed which aided lack of sleep!

Never used the bar or food so can't comment.
All in all an OK experience- couldn't really complain for the money!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Stayed Friday and Saturday and was extremely impressed. The room was clean and comfortable and the 'pod' toilet/shower room was great. Basics were provided and the TV was a good size. The location was excellent; it was central, but very quiet in the room. Friendly service and great value for money. If I return to Reading, I'll definitely use Ibis again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Just returned from a Saturday night stay at this hotel, was my second time staying here.

I booked 9 rooms at the hotel for a Hen Weekend, booked all the rooms via the hotels website which gave me the flexibility of paying for the rooms on check out, which was much easier than me trying to get the money off 18 people. The twin rooms were £39 each, working out to £19.50 per person, what a bargain for a hen weekend - ideal!!

All the rooms were booked in my name and we were all checking in at different times so I called ahead to worn the hotel, it was no problem and we were all checked in smoothly and all located on the 7th floor.

The rooms are basic but clean, good size and more than fine for a few nights stay - you get towels, tv, phone, coffe & tea etc.

The location of the hotel is hard to beat and much better than the Travelodge in Reading. The station, shops, restaurants, bars and clubs are all reachable within a 5-10 minute walk.

The hotel has an agreement with the NCP car park at the end of the road so you will get 50% discount, £10 for 24 hours.

I would choose this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucyfoxx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We got a lastminute.com room, the night before going, for £50. We were staying in Reading, after seeing a gig at the Hexagon. The staff were nice and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. I love the space-aged bathroom!

Nothing fancy or romantic, but great for a place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights during a business trip for the Thames Valley Business park in Reading. (very good free bus connection)

I almost had the feeling I was in a Formule 1 hotel. But then a little pimped.
The room is very basic with a "plastic bath-room". The bathroom is a complete all in one set. It looked OK, but I had a little bit a Dixy feeling taking a shower.

The bed is terrible! On the website they promised a soft bed, but it was just a mattress on a plank (!). I went to the reception to complain about this because they promise soft beds on their website but they were only looking at me a little bit sheepish telling me: "If you want you can get a thin blanket to put on the plank". They said that this was the best they could do. So definitely no option and no 15-minute repair guarantee.

The hotel has a very expensive Internet connection package (12 euros for 24 hours) but it's not really good. Very unreliable. When you buy the package you will also get free on demand movies on the Television. But to watch a movie where the sound is 2 seconds later then the video is not watcheable of course.
The free on demand music player works like a charm by the way.

Housekeeping didn't clean my towels every day even though I've put them on the floor. When I got back they were just re-folded. This happened 2 times.

Breakfast is VERY basic. Only 1 choice of meat (Ham) and 2 choices of cheese (Philadelphia and French cheese). A bit fruit and the usual eggs, sausage, beans, bacon.


Conclusion:
It's in the end a Formule 1 hotel with 14 floors, a breakfast room and a reception / bar. Basic accomodation, less than basic service / housekeeping, good location but for a high price.
If I pay 85 euros for only the room per night I expect at least a soft bed and clean towels.

But it's still on of the cheapest hotels in Reading.....

Below the prices in English Pounds:
Room: 77
Breakfast: 6,99
Internet: 10
Beer (Pint): 2,75

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price / Quality
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Picablaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Reading Centre

Property: Ibis Reading Centre
Address: 25 Friar Street | Reading Station, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Reading Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Reading Centre is 2 min from the train station and the pubs of Friar Street, and 30 min by train from London Paddington. Heathrow airport is accessible in 30 min via the M4 and Gatwick in 70 min by train. 10 min from Madejski Stadium and Green Park, 20 min from Legoland, the hotel has 182 rooms with air cooling. It also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours and wireless Internet access for guests on business stays. Public undercover parking close by at discounted rates for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Reading Centre Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing