We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway for couples in centre of Reading”
Review of Malmaison Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Reading
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice getaway for couples in centre of Reading”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We visited last weekend for just one night. Upgraded room after getting email to do it for £10. Glad we did as room was lovely. Did find the view and noise a bit disturbing though overlooking the railway station and although mattress was very comfortable both agreed pillows far to soft and bathroom could have been a little brighter.
Would have liked to be able to have reserved a table for cocktails as found bar very busy when we went down before dinner as very popular with the public and not very enjoyable spending £10 a drink approx standing up. Meal was lovely, although my partner did think for his £30 plus steak should have included sides as although tasted great looked quite measly with the extra chips he ordered.
Generally nice experience if you want to be in the centre of things for a night and we would go back

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirleyannbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Shirleyannbartlett

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and you enjoyed the upgraded room.

Thank you for your constructive comments. My housekeeping management are looking into your comment regarding the pillows, and your thoughts on the steak mains including a side has been passed onto the relevant leadership.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    302
    145
    77
    26
See reviews for
68
455
42
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Ok so this may sound a little strange but I stopped going to the Mal because it is too dark. I now prefer the Novotel which is just round the corner. So the Mal has good rooms and the service in the bar is very good but it's just too dark. The lighting is turned down so low that it's impossible to read a newspaper after the sun has gone down. Easily fixed and I know others have the same feedback.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wilmo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Wilmo66

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and provide us your feedback regarding the hotel. The Malmaison brand is a dark and warm brand and whilst lighting in certain areas of the hotel is limited we believe that it is part of the atmosphere of the property. That said we also believe that the hotel is a little too dark in some places and we are working to bring additional lighting in where possible.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked two superior rooms but the constant boom boom noise from the nightclubs was annoying - we thought we would persevere but at 1am in the morning it was getting louder so we gave up and asked reception to move us. The other 2 rooms (not superior) were just as bad and when we asked, the night desk staff said ''that there were several nightclubs surrounding the hotel and all the rooms were like that'' ie: noisy...... the first rooms were on the first floor and the next rooms were higher up on the 3rd floor but not much better either.
The rooms on the 3rd floor were right on the roundabout for the train station. So we had trains, nightwork on the tracks, buses, and taxis revving all night and all the next morning. I gave up in the end and did fall asleep but I slept uncomfortably on the crappiest thinnest pillows imaginable with a mattress that was hard and with springs poking through, the bed seriously needed a mattress topper .... unfortunately my husband was awake until the very very wee hours of the morning listening to the revellers leaving the nightclubs puking up in the street and yelling at their mates....
so that's the rooms explained....and the rest of the experience ......
On arrival you can barely get inside reception as for some bizarre reason the management hold the team briefings RIGHT AT THE FRONT DOORS standing up so you have to squeeze past them gossiping (they don't move out of the way for you) with all your bags and family in tow. The reception becomes the overspill area from the bar and in the internal Starbucks I felt like I was in a shopping mall rather than a supposedly upmarket hotel.
Oh and there was also a wedding going on as well.... so maybe it was more like a central train station with a flash mob wedding scenario.....
Add insult to injury when we were checking out they still tried to charge for the superior rooms even though we had to move! so that took another very painful slowwwww 15 minutes to sort.
We did pay for the 'brunch' lunch and that was very nice quality food in very large portions (if you are really hungry) but hardly seems worth staying in the hotel to be able to pay another 60 quid (food only) on top of the rack rates for the two rooms because you don't want to come down for the breakfast. The upside being that you get to have the room until 3pm (I had a nap at 2pm as it was the quietest it had been since we got there)
The best bit about the hotel? leaving........

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear sunandsleep

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Firstly I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the mal Sunday brunch.

I am however very sorry to read that the hotel overall did not meet your expectation. We can only apologise that you experienced noise in both rooms, disturbed your sleep. In reference to the mattress protector all our mattresses do have protector cushions and are in good condition so I would be very keen to investigate your room in-particular and understand the problem there.

I would also like to clarify that our management team do not ever hold meetings in the reception area, on the night you stayed we had an external theatre group completely their registration in the lobby and this will have been the people that you saw, they were not hotel staff. However I am sorry that they affected your arrival experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were blown away by the luxury of our room at Malmaison, Reading... the reservation was fairly simple, however they were uncomittal about an early check-in and didn't offer for us to drop our bags, so we arrived at 11.30pm, having been to a wedding all day... Late check in with a night porter wasn't the smoothest of operations, but we got there eventually.

That said, the comfort of the room was outstanding, the design and attention to detail of furnishing make it chic and lovely. The dark paintwork in corridors has been knocked and does look slightly shabby in places, but this was not a put off.

The location of nearby town centre pubs and clubs is great if you want to go out - however people were complaining about the noise from the in house bar at about midnight - and although our room was on the other side of the hotel, we could hear a buzz of music (don't expect a noise free night on a weekend!)

The Saturday night rate was perfectly reasonable - however the normal rack rate might be a little off putting. With wonderfully comfortable beds you can't go wrong!

We weren't overly inspired by the £20 a head all you can eat Sunday breakfast / lunch (the only B and B on offer) but the location means you can wonder Reading's streets to your hearts content and be sure to pick up just what you want (even from the Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel).

Room Tip: Away from the noisy nightclubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear azejo

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that you found the room comfortable and luxurious. I can only apologise that you were not informed that you are always welcome to drop your bags off in the morning before check-in time.

The brunch and check-out offer is a really fantastic package and includes an awesome Sunday brunch for 2 people and 3 hours late checkout for the same price as the brunch only. Our Sunday brunch is a ‘see it to believe it’ dining experience, so next time give it a try!

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very nice chic style.
Lively but classy bar on ground floor (if you don't fancy 'properly' heading out into surrounding town).Excellent consistent trained staff and breakfast v nice. Recommended at discounted price (but not rack rates of £300 per night!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarcusP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear BathBoutiqueStays

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the breakfast, and the atmosphere in the bar.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in September over the weekend of our wedding.

It is an expensive hotel with a strong brand name which we felt would be a nice treat to celebrate a very special weekend. Unfortunately, it was largely disappointing and desperately overpriced for the experience it was.

The location is really convenient (about two mins away from the train station). Apart from location, I'm struggling to find many positives to write about this hotel.

The staff were largely apathetic in most cases. Our room didn't have electricity for about an hour and a half. After telling the lady on reception about this, it took two more phonecalls to find out that "she's looking into", before I had to call down to reception again to speak to her directly.
I'm pretty easy going at the best of times, but there was no urgency to address this and there was so much passing the buck telling me that she was getting her manager to look into it... then her manager was asking someone else to look into it. It required someone to flick a switch in the fuse box... but there was no apology for any inconvenience.

The rooms (we stayed in two different ones over the weekend) were very dark and this style might appeal to some. However, while the focus was on unique decor and creating a nice theme around vintage trains, the details such as a mattress which didn't fit the bed frame was one of many little things which made you wonder why the simple basics weren't sorted from the start.

A surprise cost of about £30 was whacked on our bill when checking out as we were informed that the cost of the breakfast on the second night wasn't included in the cost of the room. When we booked the upgraded room for the second night we were informed that the total cost would be £50 extra. The first night included breakfast and while we may've assumed incorrectly that this total upgrade cost didn't include breakfast, it wasn't clearly communicated to us either.

Overall, I really would urge others to avoid wasting their money on a hotel living off a strong brand name which just doesn't have much going for it apart from the fact that it's close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevergetbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear nevergetbored

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I’m sorry to read that your recent experience at the hotel did not meet your expectation. I am extremely sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had with an electrical breaker and the delay in having this resolved for you.

I’m also sorry to read that you found the room too dark, we are a dark and warm brand and this is not to everyone’s taste, we are also looking at plans to increase the amount of lighting in some key areas of the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently booked the Italian Wine Evening and had a most enjoyable, informative evening. The food and wines were excellent and the staff, led by Richard Lockstone did a grand job, ensuring everyone had a good time.
We stayed in 'The Rocket' room which was beautifully appointed - perhaps the lighting could have been better as my wife went down to dinner wearing odd earrings (well, that's her excuse!)
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGmidget34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear MGmidget34

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed the Italian wine evening, we have also just confirmed the wine dinners for next year so check out the website for more information! Thank you for your comments on the Rocket studio suite which is a fantastic room.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Reading

Property: Malmaison Reading
Address: 18-20 Station Road, Reading RG1 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Business Hotel in Reading
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brief encounter, that fleeting glance from across the platform, a longing to be with the one you shouldn't...Meet me outside the station at this gloriously converted rail hotel. You shouldn't have this much fun so close to Heathrow, but you will at Mal. You shouldn't find a train set in your room, or a bath big enough for two, for that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Reading Hotel Reading
Malmaison Hotel Reading
Reading Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing