We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful customer service, nice food”
Review of Malmaison Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Reading
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dreadful customer service, nice food”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had our Christmas works do here last night, and the food was nice, but the bar staff and waitresses were so rude.

The waitress was pouring the wine for us, from bottles they kept at the bar, and I asked for my wine glass to be filled as the waitress walked past (my glass was completely empty) and she said "I have done wine for this table and walked off. So Rude

As i walked to the loos, I accidentally spilt some wine. A passing waiter sad very sarcastically, "thanks for that sir, now I will have to clean that in the morning!" staggering rudeness.

And to top is all, we as a company had booked the room for the whole night, having spent a huge amount of money, at 2pm they turned of the music, turned on the lights and a waiter shouted, right time for everyone to go to your rooms. We were dumbfounded. All hotel parties have been to they stay open all night, or at least until 4am.

Take my advice, and walk past this hotel, and never go in. I certainly wont be ever again, and neither will anyone from our company

Room Tip: to choose a good room, go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jammey_dodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    290
    141
    77
    26
See reviews for
65
440
41
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visited Reading today for some some Xmas shopping with my Wife. Visited Malmaison Reading for a beer and a cocktail - nice relaxing surroundings etc, a nice treat to ourselves, pleasant surroundings etc. Was spoilt by the fact that for us, irritating rap music was been imposed upon us and could see that it was also causing an affect upon other clientel. I had a polite word with the guy behind the bar. His response was that all music is centrally controlled and he can do nothing about it. Once I had returned to my seat the "music" had been ramped up, at which point my wife and I finished our drinks and left. Such a shame as being local we had earmarked this as a suitable hotel for passing friends to stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Well located next to Reading station, has a great boutique atmostphere, rooms are different to anything you will get from another hotel chain, good service all around, and pricing was reasonable as well. My only gripe as a business traveller is that my room didn't have a trouser press. I cannot understand why all middle to up market hotels in today's age do not have them in every room. I've had one at home for over 20 years now.

Having said that, many, many other hotels are in the same situation.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim-from-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

My wife & I travelled to Reading for my office Xmas do. The Malmaison hotel is wonderfully convenient as it is right opposite the railway station. It is also close to the shops (just a couple of minutes stroll from John Lewis - my wife's favourite store)! I had asked for a quiet room and we were given one at the back of the hotel. It was clean and spacious with an excellent en suite bathroom. We arrived earlier than planned but were allowed to check in and go straight to our room (over an hour earlier than the advertised check in time) which we really appreciated. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bed was large & comfortable. The food (we did B&B) was excellent both in quality and choice. My only gripe, hence 4 stars not 5, is the lighting in the bedroom & bathroom. The number of lights is economical to say the least. I like mood lighting but I want to be able to see properly to have a shave and for my wife to do her makeup. Overall a great place to stay in Reading.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Mikerob730

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the office Christmas party! I am also very glad to read that you found all the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Your feedback regarding the amount of lighting in certain areas of the hotel is acknowledged and this is an area that we are planning on developing. Our brand does have a warm and dark feel and we are intentionally not aiming for a bright or sterile feel within the rooms, however in some places we may be a little too dark.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed with Malmaison on the 7th Dec and had a really lovely hotel experience.
Check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was very helpful. Room was of high standard, very spacious and clean. We chose to dine in the hotel brasserie. Food was excellent, service was quick and atmosphere was good. Breakfast the following morning was equally as good.
Hotel is right in the centre so walking distance from everything that you need. Oracle is only a 5 min walk away with the train station across the road.

Will defo be staying here again and I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tg71989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear tg71989

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your Reading shopping escape at the Oracle. I am very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I wanted to give special thanks to Hannah and the events team for making our party with you last Saturday evening such a memorable one.

I would especially like you to pass on our thanks to the very attentive and lovely waiting staff - from the head waitress Helen, who welcomed us, to Piers the wine waiter, they all looked after us wonderfully through out the evening.

It was very much enjoyed by all. Georgeous rib-eye steak!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear John W

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you and your party enjoy the birthday celebrations on Saturday night.

I will gladly pass your feedback to Hannah, Helen, Piers and the rest of the team, and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked this hotel at the request of my partner, she has always wanted to stay there.

Hotel did not let us down, it was awesome, staff were helpful and put me in a really nice room!!

Breakfast was decidedly below average, I've had better in less "quality" hotels, shame but the only black spot on an otherwise perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E1w00dB1ue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear E1w00dB1ue5

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the staff helpful.

I am surprised to read your comments on Breakfast and I would be very grateful for a little more detail on why you found that the Breakfast let down your experience. If you do have time to send me any further feedback on breakfast please could you send it to: reading@malmaison.com for my attention so I can investigate further.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Reading

Property: Malmaison Reading
Address: 18-20 Station Road, Reading RG1 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Business Hotel in Reading
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brief encounter, that fleeting glance from across the platform, a longing to be with the one you shouldn't...Meet me outside the station at this gloriously converted rail hotel. You shouldn't have this much fun so close to Heathrow, but you will at Mal. You shouldn't find a train set in your room, or a bath big enough for two, for that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Reading Hotel Reading
Malmaison Hotel Reading
Reading Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing