We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Away/Birthday Celebration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Reading

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Malmaison Reading
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Away/Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent one night at the Malmaison, chosen mainly for its geographic location. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Three cherries:
1. The service was excellent, and throughout the visit the staff impressed us with their cheerful professionalism, helpfulness and self confidence;
2. Dinner was excellent;
3. Our room was very good, and it was delightful to have air conditioning which did what we wanted rather than what 'it' felt we should have (a common failing in far too many hotels).

Two lemons:
1. We found the decor throughout the hotel too dark for our personal taste;
2. The cooked food at breakfast was disappointing.

Room Tip: One night - one room - can't help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 346Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear 346Peter

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was pleased to read your ‘three cherries’ especially the first point regarding the service. However I was sorry to read the ‘lemons’ especially the breakfast point as this is disappointing since we normally receive very positive reviews on our breakfast experience. I’m very sorry that on this occasion we were unable to impress you with our breakfast experience and I have fed this feedback to our chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    277
    137
    77
    26
See reviews for
56
420
40
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a glass of champagne here, followed by lunch in the restaurant. All very good. Helpful, friendly staff. Food very good, had the two course set menu. No faults there, in fact full up could not manage dessert! Good value as well. Even returned later for another glass of bubbles, lovely lounge, open fire comfy sofas and an excellent choice of cocktails and champagne....shame I had a train to catch! Will certainly revisit as only a short walk from station.

Room Tip: As I did not stay I cannot say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear eggybreadUk

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our Bar and Brasserie during a ‘BubbleTime’ which is our Friday Champagne evening from 5pm-8pm!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

just not great. i am a frequent hotel user, particularly in Reading/London.last 2 visits i have had to wait an hour for a bar snack... rooms are dingy rather than trendy, parking and driving an expensive nightmare, wireless is unusable.on arrival was a printed trip advisor review in the sink, moaning about room 314... my room... that review is right beds are so lumpy.might as well go for the hilton, holiday inn or the moat house... they cant live off their brand so they have to make an effort.

Helpful?
Thank nick4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear nick4

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I sincerely apologise that your experience at Malmaison Reading did not meet your expectations and that we failed to give you all the quality of stay that you deserved. I have looked into the comments that you have made and put processes in place to ensure that this does not happen again. The bed has been repaired and we are having a new wireless fibre optic line installed very soon.

I hope this goes some way in building your confidence that we are not a hotel chain who wish to live off its brand. We do care and we are making an on-going effort to improve the areas of our product that fall short of our guests expectations.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I turned back the clock of romance and went for the Valentines package which was good value and reasonably priced.

The good news; very helpful staff, very visible and professional Management. Good location, Starbucks an added bonus.

The bad news; we were given a room fit and built eclusively for disabled or for those with walking disabilities / wheelchair access. (The peep-hole at stomach level gave it away)...This entailed a restructured bath / shower for disabled purpose which meant an awkward and impractical fit-out for those abled. Shower taps were also dirty which was not the end of the world, but nevertheless off-putting.

This was nothing compared to the constant glare of a bright green 'assistance' button which was placed by the bathroom door (and in perfect eye-line when lying down on the bed)... Irrelevant during the day but a nightmare at night which resulted in a not-so comfortable nights sleep. The room was also facing the High Street with unrivalled views of the local novelty chip-shop.
We discussed this with Management upon check-out. Ttuth be told, the Manager was understanding, apologetic and disappointed, whereby a nice gesture of goodwill was duly deployed. Helped softened the blow but still left a slightly bitter taste.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greco72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Greco72

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I’m pleased to read that you found the staff and management helpful and professional.

I’m sorry to read that the room was not suitable for your stay and I know that we were able to apologise and compensate accordingly before you departed the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope that this has not put you off returning to Malmaison Reading.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights. Location is very good, near the high street. It is just opposite the train station. There was a Starbucks that was connected to the hotel. Also, it seemed that the restaurant and bar were quite hip and trendy.

However, the room was very dark. Additional lights would be great so it would be easier to spot our belongings especially when we were packing.

Bathroom was nice though. We got both shower and bathtub and they both were separated. Bathroom amenities; body cleanser and shampoo, were nice and they were in nice tubes/bottles. Unfortunately, there was no body lotion so I needed to ask one. There was a big clock on the wall in the bathroom but it was not working. They should've changed the battery of the clock. It was room 119.

Overall, the hotel is OK, not bad for a weekend gateway.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Astri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Astri R

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed the hotel and found the bar and Brasserie hip and trendy!

As you mentioned our room amenities do not include body lotion, however I’m very glad that my team were able to provide you with lotion on your request. I can also confirm that the batteries in the clock have now been changed – thank you for letting us know. I’m also sorry to read that you found the room too dark, we are a dark and warm brand and this is not to everyone’s taste, we are also looking at plans to increase the amount of lighting in some key areas of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your review, and do let us know when you are next planning to stay and we will allocated you one of our lighter rooms.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely hotel, food & service, but the downside is much too dark, poor lighting in rooms, beds very hard, and constant humming noise coming from the (I think the air con) all through the night. would stay there again, but not for more than a night because of the very nice but too dark décor. Very handy for the station which we needed to get into London for my hubby's birthday treat. Beautifully clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear lyn62

Thank you for taking the time to write your complimentary review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoy your stay at Malmaison Reading. If you are able to let us know your room number or the name that the reservation was made under (via reading@malmaison.com) we will investigate the humming issue ASAP. We will also have a careful look at the mattress in the room you stayed, our challenge is that bed firmness can be a subjective issue.

Your feedback regarding the amount of lighting in certain areas of the hotel is acknowledged. The Mal brand does have a warm and dark feel and we are intentionally not aiming for a bright or sterile environment within the rooms, however in some places we may be a little too dark, this is something that is being addressed.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your Mal experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent one night here with my daughter recently.

I'll start with the good first:-
Staff friendly and helpful
Room spacious
Hotel well located

Mixed:- I prepaid for breakfast, you only get continental. Juice was of a good quality but only orange and grapefruit and they make their own granola.

Bad:- booked a twin room, they don't offer twins above the standard rate so I can only comment on the standard rooms.
Our beds were pushed together,not a problem for us but could be for others.
The beds in our room,314, had very uncomfortable,lumpy mattresses.
Room too dark,in fact the hotel was dark throughout.
Our shower suddenly started in the middle of the night, which contributed even more to a poor nights sleep.

Wouldn't rush to return, if I need to return to Reading I would look at trying other hotels first. Wouldn't recommend either unless you're not fussed about a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear merlin 1965

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read your ‘good points’ especially the first one being that the staff were friendly and helpful.

Regarding the ‘bad’ feedback, I’m sorry to read that you found the mattress uncomfortable and I will have a look at this specific room. What’s extremely strange is the feedback on the shower.. I simply don’t understand what caused the shower to start in the middle of the night, I have asked my maintenance manager to have a thorough look at this and see if he can identify and resolve the issue.

Please let us know if and when you return to Malmaison Reading and I will ensure that your room allocation best suits your needs. Once again thank you for the time to write your review.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Reading

Property: Malmaison Reading
Address: 18-20 Station Road, Reading RG1 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Business Hotel in Reading
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brief encounter, that fleeting glance from across the platform, a longing to be with the one you shouldn't...Meet me outside the station at this gloriously converted rail hotel. You shouldn't have this much fun so close to Heathrow, but you will at Mal. You shouldn't find a train set in your room, or a bath big enough for two, for that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Reading Hotel Reading
Malmaison Hotel Reading
Reading Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing