We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine's stay!”
Review of Malmaison Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Reading
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's stay!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Once again a wonderful stay at Malmaison Reading. Staff helpful and friendly, we stayed in the Orient Express for the weekend and it was fabulous. We are a huge fan on Malmaison Reading and have stayed on several occasions now. We will be trying the Mallard or Rocket suite next. Food is fabulous, cannot fault it. The town is on the doorstep.. great for a shopaholic like me! Bars and clubs very close...also great for us as no costly cabs back which is great. Looking forward to our next stay :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gucciblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Gucciblackcat

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very glad that you enjoyed our Orient Express Studio Suite. We are so glad that you had a faultless stay and that the staff stood out as being friendly and helpful. As you mentioned, for shopping we are indeed very luckly being only a few minutes walk to the Oracle shopping center!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    302
    145
    77
    26
See reviews for
68
455
42
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a very romantic, intimate hotel. Perfect for a cheeky getaway.
Food is excellent and it's location is spot on too.
A wonderful place to stay if you need some pampering as the toiletries and bathroom are fab and the bed is very comfy too! You will sleep well.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise from the revellers outside on a Friday or Saturday night, then perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Cat M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very glad that you enjoyed our ‘getting’ jiggy wit’ da figgy’ bathroom amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, england
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Much much better than it used to be. They have deals that they now want you to use to save money rather than their old way if just charging you £11 for a glass of average wine. The good was delicious and the service fantastic. Go for a romantic meal or a night out with friends, it feels special.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear TIDTraveller

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed on the 28th April. Room dirty, power sockets faulty, keep away from towel rail it's hot (actually it's cold) breakfast I had to ask for a cooked on and not told there was a charge till I checked out. Service poor. More a reasonable b&b than a quality hotel. Rooms dark and dinghy as Andre the corridors.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank conderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear conderson

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I sincerely apologise that your experience at Malmaison Reading did not meet your expectations. We have fixed the faulty socket in the room, thank you for letting us know.

Continental breakfast does have a £2 upgrade to a full cooked breakfast, and I’m sorry that this wasn’t made clear when you were hosted to your table.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can of any further assistance.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel, conveniently located by the train station and (for me) walking distance to my office.

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Free wifi a definite plus.

The lobby and bar were attractive and enjoyable.

Great stay while in Reading.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear TravelwithBrown

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stays with us.

Our location, directly opposite Reading train station, is a real benefit for guests who are traveling in and out of Reading via train or using the Heathrow Express Coach which stops just outside the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a room due to the Sunday stop over offer (spend £75 on dinner and get the room for £25). Our room was upgraded to the Rocket suite which was amazing! We were also given a bottle of champagne on arrival!

Split level room, monsoon dual shower, bath for two, super king bed and gorgeous decor.

The food was fantastic too, we had room service for lunch and ate in the Brassarie for dinner.

No complaints!

Room Tip: choose the rocket suite, the hotel staff said it was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilykayhilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear emilykayhilbourne

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stays with us. The Rocket studio suite is a lovely room.

The Sunday stopover is a fantastic value deal and is available on most Sundays via 'offers' on our Malmaison website, so we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Reading again soon.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a stay at malmaison reading and having stayed at other hotels in the chain before, we're expecting good things. The hotel itself is beautiful, and has the wow factor you expect from a malmaison. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable and all very well decorated. The hotel is in a good location and offers half price parking at a local NCP which works out at £10 for 24 hours which is very reasonable.
Food was absolutely wonderful we had 3 course dinner and the chef was incredibly accommodating in adapting certain dishes to suit my dietary requirements. Breakfast was incredible too.
The only problem with this hotel is NOISE. When we booked we asked for a quiet room and were put at the front of the hotel which overlooked a busy street with train station, buses, cars and many bars & clubs. We questioned if this was quiet with the receptionist and were told no it wasn't and were moved to a room at the back of the hotel. My advice to anyone booking this hotel is DO NOT STAY at the back of the hotel. We were positioned immediately above a nightclub with outdoor music. At 1am it was so loud we could hear loud music with pumping base and screaming people. The night porter came up to our room and was horrified by how loud it was and moved us to yet another room. Moving rooms that many times is not acceptable when you want to relax and enjoy your stay, especially not in the middle of the night.
I appreciate that we were offered a free breakfast by the receptionist but in my opinion this does not make up for a terrible noisy experience. If I wanted to sleep above a rave I would have booked a trip to Ibiza. Malmaison needs to sound proof the rooms or speak to their local council about the noise their neighbours are making. As it ruins what should have been a wonderful hotel break.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there is such a thing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear vickyspike

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, especially the food in our Brasserie.

I sincerely apologise that your experience was negatively affected by the noise in the room. Due to our city centre location, noise from local businesses can sometimes effect our guests peace. All our rooms are fitted with secondary glazing and sound proofing to minimise the noise entering the room (unfortunately we are not allowed to install double glazing as we are a grade to listed building).

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can of any further assistance.


Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Reading

Property: Malmaison Reading
Address: 18-20 Station Road, Reading RG1 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Business Hotel in Reading
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brief encounter, that fleeting glance from across the platform, a longing to be with the one you shouldn't...Meet me outside the station at this gloriously converted rail hotel. You shouldn't have this much fun so close to Heathrow, but you will at Mal. You shouldn't find a train set in your room, or a bath big enough for two, for that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Reading Hotel Reading
Malmaison Hotel Reading
Reading Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing