We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

pentahotels Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,137)
Filter reviews
1,137 results
Traveller rating
515
344
159
88
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
344
159
88
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden bathmallard suiteorient expressflying scotsmantrain stationsuperior roomreading stationhuge bathroommini barncp car parkcooked breakfastsaturday nightan upgradelovely roombar areatown centrebrasserie
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,137 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Having experienced one of the worst hotel stays here previously, I approached a second visit with some trepidation.

Business meant I had little choice but to stay in Reading and the Malmaison is a great location, within a stone's throw of the station.

Reception employees friendly and efficient, and a room upgrade was most appreciated.

Third floor facing the back of the hotel so very quiet.

Rooms are nice - tea and coffee is high quality and a jar full of chocolates is a nice touch.

Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms are high spec with quality toiletries.

Continental breakfast in room is good, if a little pricey at £13, but there is plenty of it, delivered in quite a large hamper.

At just over £200 for the night, represents good value and a nice experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the main road at the front
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pauldS6529BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello pauldS6529DR,

Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to read that your experience this time was far more positive than your first experience with us. I hope that this has now restored some faith in the hotel and you will stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Love love love this chain.
We didn't stay but just had a few drinks before moving into the restaurant for dinner.
Vibe was cool, chilled out and grown up. Staff literally could not do more to help, cocktails were gorgeous and staff were v knowledgeable and great with recommendations.
The food and staff in the restaurant were equally amazing...I have forgotten our wonderful waiters name but he was superb. He again was v knowledgeable about the menu and wines and made a great refreshing wine match for our meal. Cannot fault this place will be back with friends and hopefully for an overnight stay!
Bravo reading team!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Gemma w,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in the bar and brasserie. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and maybe this time stay with us?

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The staff at Malmaison provided us with an excellent experience for the birthday celebration, Imogen was really helpful in organising for us to have a private room and Patrick and Cristina were friendly and attentive on the day to ensure we were thoroughly taken care of. The quality of the food and the service was outstanding and the flowers were a lovely touch.
Thank you to all of the staff for making the birthday celebration so special - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Jacqueline C,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience in one of our private dining rooms. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team regarding service and quality of food.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

A group of 9 of us visited for a dinner in one of the private dining rooms on a Friday evening. Our Event Co-Ordinator Imogen was incredibly helpful from start to finish, always responding swiftly to emails with the relevant information, her colleague David was also very helpful, managing to turn around a misunderstanding with dates whilst alleviating any stress and Ioanna (our host on the evening) was absolutely perfect, never spending too much time in the room with us but always on hand when we needed her. We arrived a little late but everything was fine and the food was fantastic. All in all a lovely evening.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alextasker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello alextasker5,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us.

It is lovely to hear that you had a great time in one of our private dining rooms. Equally it is great to read that Imogen, David and Ioanna were able to help facilitate a great evening, I will be sure to pass your comments onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I've lost count of the times I have stayed at the Mal in Reading and I live in Reading. There should be no reason to stay here as it's on my doorstep but we do as it's always such a great experience. This is not only down to the fantastic boutique rooms but equally the staff at the Mal. They are all fantastic but I must mention a few in particular . Imogen helped arrange Wine pairing with private dining for. Y birthday and 20 guests. She works tirelessly in order to make sure the evening was perfect. David in marketing is a huge asset and arranged a previous diner for us. James the manager is extremely welcoming with the perfect balance for hospitality. George was our host at the weekend and his knowledge of wine mixed with his ability to have all of the guests in stitches with his charm and humour was fantastic. A special mention to George as he was more than we could have asked for. Thank you. Was also great to bump into Dianna at the bar. Such a lovely person . In all the Mal is a home from home and the staff just Fantastic. You can tell that there really is a great vibe to the best Hotel in the South East. Looking to book another diner and stay already . Thanks Mal keep you the awesomeness !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dawfydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie W, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Dawfydd,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your private dining and stay with us. I will make sure that everyone mentioned is shown this feedback as it lovely to hear that you enjoyed the wine dinner hosted by George.

We really hope to see you again soon next time you're in Reading.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews