We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
£89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
lance c

Service

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Breakfast was brilliant we were made to feel welcomed straight from the start , susana was very helpful , she was a star , and I’m grateful for her assistance ,
The lamps didn’t work in our room and figuring out how to turn them out was a hassle , and we should of been told , how they work
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to let the hotel have your feedback following your recent stay with us.

This is very much appreciated.

Paul Eaves General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £144
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Travelodge
0.3 miles from Malmaison Reading
Front entrance evening shot!
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Expedia.com
    £95
1.3 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton
    £85
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £52
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • vocoHotels
    £85
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Free parking
External view of hotel
Tripadvisor
£45
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Malmaison Reading
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £49
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Malmaison Reading
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £51
  • Hotels.com
2.6 miles from Malmaison Reading
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Reading
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,563 results
Traveller rating
804
420
190
101
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
804
420
190
101
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station reading station superior room large bathroom cooked breakfast bar area town centre stayed here for one night brasserie rocket yvette manu gwr toiletries mirror heathrow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,563 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

We had previously stayed at another Malmaison, so knew that the chain exudes good quality and superb service and we were keen to sample the delights of the Reading branch. It is in an excellent location, directly across the road from the train station.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the lovely Ioanna, she was so warm, welcoming and informative as well as being efficient and professional.

We had a Club room which was enormous, it was beautifully clean and well appointed with a large bathroom with separate bath tub and shower cubicle.
The finishing touches such as bathrobes, slippers, chocolates, and mineral water were greatly received.

The package we had included an evening meal and breakfast and although it was a quiet Sunday night we were treated like long lost friends by the wonderful Yvette. She is such a character and so delightful and a consummate professional with her warm persona, infectious laugh and dedication to her job.
We had delicious food and such a relaxing evening. To our delight Yvette was also present at breakfast, the breakfast didn't disappoint either. there was such a good selection of hot and cold dishes and we didn't need to eat much for the rest of the day!

We would love to go back to enjoy the enchantment of this hotel. It is such a joy to visit and the staff work tirelessly to ensure that everyone has their best stay and seem so happy in their job which reflects in the over all ambience.

If traveling on business or for pleasure this hotel is a must.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1083NBtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear valued guest

Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL review of Malmaison Reading and its team.

We are so pleased that we are able to be of service to you and I hope that we get that opportunity many more times.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

My wife and I booked the bar, restaurant and a number of hotel rooms for a family get-together (both sides) to celebrate my 40th and couldn't have asked for more.

Really helpful communications in the run-up, ensuring everything was sorted well in advance, and very friendly and attentive service from everyone on the night itself. They even sorted a little birthday surprise for me, which was really sweet.

Lovely venue, too - stylish but relaxed and not at all pretentious, nice spacious bar and restaurant area, top-notch food, comfy rooms, etc etc etc. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbledon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL review of Malmaison Reading.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your family get-together and the team are equally so.

We do hope that you will visit the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

This hotel is by far the most comfiest stay in Reading! I've been over and back for 2 years with work, at times it was fully booked and I would stay elsewhere, but primarily would book here! The staff are so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The manager Nick is so lovely and all of the bar and restaurant staff and night porters, honestly they are just brilliant! The rooms are so clean and the beds are unbelievably comfy. Every room has a different theme, each one as comfortable as the other. There is a fantastic restaurant menu and room service menu. I had an accident on one of my trips, and they didn't charge me for late checkout, they were more concerned that I would be OK. Recently it was my last trip as my work commitments finished, and Nick gave me the master suite as it wasn't booked that particular trip. They really make you feel so at ease and part of the hotel family. I am definitely going to go back for a stay that is not work related, just to enjoy the comfort of the bed lol. The only downside, is lack of sockets beside the bed to charge the phone. There is plenty of sockets in the rooms, just not right beside the bed. But everything else far outweighs that little thing! It's right beside the train station and is central to everything Reading has to offer! You just have to experience it, to believe it! Thank you Malmaison, I will return! Martina from the Emerald Isle

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobile34370213798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how happy you have been during your time spent at Malmaison Reading.

The team and I are so pleased about this and we do hope that you will return to stay with us again very soon!

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Great, welcoming greeting with a smile at Reception, and had a table for 4 available in minutes. The ladies behind the bar offered excellent service too. Lovely hum of a busy hotel bar, bit quiet enough for a meeting. I'll definitely be back. Thank you so much to the team

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 672sureshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Dear 672sureshs

Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL comments about the hotel and its team.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

Great location straight out side the railway station. Also near the centre of the town for shopping and food and takeaways.

The rooms are to a high standard and veru good value for money.

Room was ready early so we were allowed in eaely at no extra cost.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Eaves, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Dear guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of Malmaison Reading following your recent stay with us.

This is very much appreciated by the whole hotel team.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews