We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Hotel, lovely staff and parking”
Review of Thameside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thameside Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel, lovely staff and parking”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I am a regular traveler to Reading and stayed at a number of hotels, however, I settled on this one a long time ago.

Location is brilliant, right next to the river for an evening walk, or 5 minutes to the train station and center of Reading. The free parking is also a huge bonus in the center of Reading.

The breakfast options are excellent with a wide choice from menu, or self serv. The staff wouldn't let you leave hungry.

The rooms are decorated as nicely, with some rooms, far larger that you would expect, with free WiFi throughout the hotel

All members of staff are very friendly, attentive, approachable, knowledgeable and genuinely wanted to ensure we had a lovely time, and get the best out of your stay

If you fancy a beer or evening food, the team happily accommodate and will stay up and serve the bar as late as you like!

Overall, I would recommend to all travelers. Stay away from the no face chains and try out the Thameside!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10BAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    35
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
18
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I booked two rooms here after reading all the great reviews, however I think I must have ended up in a different hotel. The hotel location is in a 'dodgy' area which is not so nice and it's not on the side of the Thames rather reasonable close to where the Thames is. The hotel has multiple security cameras and warning signs about not leaving valuables in your car - makes you think the car park may not be so safe - which is down a very narrow alley. The car park is littered with discarded items (a rather dodgy 80's bar for instance) and barred windows and doors etc. The rear entrance was grubby and worn. The welcome at reception was ok but not as super friendly as many make out. We were shown up a worn dark carpeted 1980 looking staircase to two dreary, old, worn bedrooms - both had curtains closed to block out the views of furniture stacked room/alleys. Neither room looked like any of the photo shown on trip advisor. My bathroom was old, dirty and worn - stains in the sink and tiles etc. Shower over the bath was old and barely working. We decided not to both with breakfast and just left in the morning unimpressed. All that for £89 a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcasrle
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed at the Thameside on a recent trip to Reading and although it was recommended, I was very pleasantly surprised by the FANTASTIC level of Service I received. This is a family run business and the atmoshpere created by this family is very warm, welcoming and friendly. As other guests have stated nothing is too much trouble for these guys. I felt completely looked after without having the feeling of staff "hanging over" you or being too personal. This family seem to have the "Knack" of getting it spot-on. I was only there for two days and I felt I that I'd known them for years. Anyway, it was only after booking I heard that such a good position had been achieved on Trip Advisor - I can quite easily tell why. In summary I would like to thank Julie, Rishi, "Evans" and The Big Fella who does cook an Excellent Breakfast. I thoroughly recommend this Hotel for anyone staying in Reading whatever the reason, as I will not be looking for anywhere else on future trips. I only hope I can still get a place nex time I come to book!

Room Tip: Room 8 was very comfortable indeed - if you don't mind walking up a few flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Thameside Hotel. The staff are extremely welcoming and can't do enough for you. The breakfast was great and the downstairs cafe bar is really useful for meetings clients or working. They serve really good coffee and a good selection of beer. The room was basic but had everything I needed, a nice change from the standard hotel rooms in chains. I will be back there next time I stay in Reading.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Techno_Dava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

stayed here almost by accident - I was looking for a change from the usual corporate hotels and definitely found it.

the service was impeccable, nothing was too much trouble - the food was great and reasonably priced and the room was comfortable, clean and very quiet.

I'd definitely stay again.

Very impressed

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stay here on a weekly basis, it is superb and ticks so many boxes. It is family run business and they are all so very friendly and personable. It is a comfortable stay from start to finish and I shall continue to stay here until visits to Reading are no longer required.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Found this by accident, and so glad I did. The first night I was late and wanted to watch the football, I was given room service of ham and cheese toasty and home made chips. Brilliant. Breakfast was fine and served by extremely friendly staff. It was nice to be somewhere so informal yet professional and accommodating. My friends stopped the second night, the food was delicious and again the service very attentive.

The room was large and had everything you needed, and to top it all they found me an umbrella to stop me getting wet during a morning walk. A definite gem.

Room Tip: I had room 5 which had a bath, it overlooked the road, but was well double glazed and you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thameside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thameside Hotel

Property: Thameside Hotel
Address: 144-150 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#9 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thameside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thameside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thameside Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing