We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Bed and Breakfast Hotel with good service levels.”
Review of Thameside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thameside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Needed two rooms in Reading and on reading the previous reviews, this hotels current position as the number two hotel in Reading (at time of writing) seems to have been achieved by an overly large amount of glowing reports from “single post wonders” for me to be totally comfortable with booking it.
However, as I needed a double and a twin, and this was proving problematical to find in Reading without paying a fortune at one of the standard chains, and as I received very helpful pre booking service both on the phone and by email and some of the good reviews obviously are genuine, I decided to take the chance and book it for last week.
Let me give you my honest view of our experience.
What the Thameside Hotel is not, is a Luxury Business and Leisure Hotel with a Thames side location , despite what it may intimate on the front page of their web site.
What it is, is a comfortable, solid family run Bed and Breakfast hotel which offers friendly service value for money accommodation in the Reading area.
First impressions were not good as the initial approach gave some concerns that a mistake had been made choosing this one. It is located amongst the local shops and fast food restaurants on the busy Caversham Road. The car park is not obvious and is tricky to enter. You have to turn into the dead end Thames Avenue and then take the second track on the left, a tight entrance between two houses. Then the rear entrance to the hotel from the car park is not the most welcoming vista with its barred gates and shabby appearance.
However, fortunately once inside the experience was very different. A very friendly welcome at the reception desk and almost personal service to show us to our rooms, and that friendly service continued throughout our stay.
The two rooms we had were comfortable and well equipped. The rooms themselves are in the two wings each side of the main entrance and reception, which can only be entered with a room key. The twin room was on one side and was back facing and, although without much of a view was perfectly fine for two adults. Our double was front facing on the other side and, although the Caversham Road is a busy commuter thoroughfare in and out of Reading, the room was well glazed so that there was virtually no traffic noise.
Both rooms had adequate bathrooms with showers , plenty of wardrobe space, large flat screen TV’s and a wall mounted air conditioning unit high on one of the walls. And I can’t recall in the twin , but our room had a decent desk area on which was the tea and coffee making facilities.
The hotel also runs the Aroma Deli and Cafe bar open to the public on the ground floor and this is handy for snacks and refreshments that can be put on the room bill.
The breakfast room is in a separate area to the café. Usual cereals and yogurts available and the hot breakfasts are freshly cooked to order.For me a good test of any bed and breakfast is how well they cook scrambled eggs, and the Thameside passed with flying colours in this respect.
Although Caversham road may not be the most attractive road in Reading, it is perfectly fine and the hotel is 3-4 minutes walk from the train station and the Oracle can be reached in under 15 minutes walk. And yes the Thames path is accessible at the bottom of Thames Avenue, a mere 1 minute walk, you just can’t see it from the hotel.
The free parking space and the free Wi-Fi (which worked well for smart phone and ipad throughout the hotel), are certainly a positive. And at around £50 a head for B&B overnight stay for us I had no complaints, as I have to stay in the Thames Valley regularly and know how expensive local accommodation is compared to other regions.
For the previous one post reviewer who considers the Thameside Hotel to be better than the Ritz, then you clearly have never stayed in The Ritz my friend. But I would concur you are unlikely to experience more friendly service there than we received in the Thameside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

A really lovely hotel with great, friendly staff from the moment I walked through the door. My room was lovely with a large TV, air conditioning and a comfy double bed (not expected when booking for 1 person!)
Bathroom was clean with bath and shower and plenty of towels.
The breakfast was really nice with plenty of option and again friendly staff who chatted. Would definately chose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade2563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is a family enterprise. The rooms are quite spacious compared to most I've experienced in England. Very clean, good AC and nicely equipped. After a long flight and train trek, it was a pleasant find. The Hotel staff are very kind and friendly. I had an errand to run that would have me return past my checkout time and they graciously extended my checkout with no charge. The location is a bit of a walk from City Centre, but walking along the Thames River is better than walking Caversham Road. The cafe was good also - excellent iced late and service. This hotel has excellent value. Single room (double bed) $95BP in July.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Tene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

First of all this hotel is not the Forbury, which we have stayed at before. However it is not charging Forbury prices. We paid £89 for a double room with free parking.
What this hotel represents is great value. The room was spotless, bed comfortable and the linen of good quality, the shower was very powerful.
Breakfast in the morning was good and served by extremely friendly people.
We were down to pack up our daughter from the Uni. She is back in October and we will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chunkyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our room was spacious and well-furnished.
There is ample free parking at the rear of the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.
And the cooked breakfast was excellent too.
Highly recommended, we would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank more_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Would come back to this hotel the rooms are great and the bar is fine bathrooms are clean but slightly dated but are quality. The staff are so frievdly and breakfast was very nice thr chef will make anytng you want Give this hotel 8/10

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Having had great difficulty in finding a room for the night, we were very pleased to find this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, good service and nice breakfast. There was a small parking area at the back. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thameside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thameside Hotel

Address: 144-150 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#9 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £89 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thameside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Thameside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thameside Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing