We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business trip”
Review of Thameside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thameside Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business trip”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

very clean and nice room with everything you need coming back from work, with free wireless internet access, very freindly staff, nice cafe downstairs. Close to railwaystation and only a short walk to very nice restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    35
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
18
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would like to say that although it is not a big sized hotel, but it is very amazing. the owners are very friendly. i felt sad when i had to leave the hotel. I stayed in a studio room which is more than amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good location near the train station, close by the Thames where you can make a nice evening walk.
Room was okay. The rooms on the front side might be a bit noisy, due to the busy street.
Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel has an own restaurant, which serves very tasty food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GeertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

good value, clean and tidy room and the staff were really nice

no bad points other than I found it difficult to find because no street number on booking.com and would help if there were directions to the parking area and better signs in that area, other than that all round good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DanoBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

stayed at Thames side hotel on bussiness trip.I have had many experience of many large corporate hotel group but thame side hotel was very different approach for there customers and service..Location was great food was good parking was excellent I would mostly recommend to anyone.Also great connection for reading train station and for london..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tante64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

3 star self classified did make me a little apprehensive when making the booking but hotel really nice, clean and modern. Unusual to have a cafe inside. Nice restaurant, lovely friendly staff. Room nice, included a fridge which is rare. Couple of light bulbs not working, one replaced during stay. Room service expensive but tasty. Bathroom a bit shabby but would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank junet640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The owners of this hotel especially Jules make sure they treat their guests as if they are home. The hotel is located on the Main Street of Caversham and is two minutes away from Caversham bridge. It is a 10 minute walk from Reading train station where you can easily take the train to London. The hotel is a 15 minute walk to Reading town center and the Oracle mall. The room I had was good. It was clean though I have to say that the bed was not comfortable as it was a bit hard. I had a room on the first floor and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biba_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#8 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thameside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thameside Hotel

Property: Thameside Hotel
Address: 144-150 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#9 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thameside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Thameside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thameside Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing