We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of Pepe Sale

Pepe Sale
Ranked #28 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Offering a vibrant, nutritious selection of historic Sardinian recipes and modern Italian dishes, Pepe Sale is an award-winning eatery in the centre of Reading. As well as premium staples like home-made fresh pasta and typical bread and wines, delicious house specialities showcase a wealth of culinary experience. A bright dining room features retro green and white tiling, a pastel orange colour palette and glossy granite-topped tables.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Pepe Sale a couple of times per year for some time now. Visited again yesterday for a lunch on Saturday and can report that the food - a mixture of the day's specials and items from the regular a la carte menu - were all excellent. All accompanied by great service from Marco and the team. So good to have an independent restaurant to enjoy rather a than all the big chains that seem to be taking over every town centre where you can eat the same average quality food wherever you may be.

John

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    105
    29
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great little place. Excellent food and wine. Had the fish special that was first class and very filling. Staff where friendly in this family run business. I will be back next time I'm in Reading.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good pre-show restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Among other things, this restaurant is geared to providing pre-theatre meals for those going on to the Hexagon. Although not having booked, we had a pleasant table and the pre-show special menu, which was priced reasonably at £13.50 for 2 courses. The food was good and the service was quite swift and enabled us to have a meal and go on to the theatre without undue rush.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant close to the Hexagon”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Hexagon for probably around 20 years so we needed to find somewhere for a pre-theatre meal. As my wife is a wheelchair user it was important that we chose somewhere that was close to the Hexagon and easily accessible from it. Based on its proximity and good TA reviews, plus our liking for Italian food and a previous good experience with Sardinian food, I booked Pepe Sale.

It was a good choice. We went in just before 6pm when they officially open, so the restaurant was quiet. The owner was very courteous and helpful in allowing us to choose a table that would work well with the wheelchair and discussing what items on the menu we would or wouldn't have time for given our need to leave at 7.15 for the theatre. The feel was in several ways quite Italian and a spontaneous discussion about opera we had with the owner seemed very appropriate. Everything we ordered was delicious and the service was relaxed and efficient - allowing us to leave in time for the theatre without constantly worrying about the time.

We liked the ambience within the restaurant but I was surprised how run-down the immediate area (between Broad Street Mall and the Hexagon) is these days, with badly patch up and very uneven pavements and a brutal old-fashioned concrete-jungle feel to the area. I really think Reading council need to sort this out before it gets any worse. If the area was nicer, perhaps the restaurant could have some tables outside too - further enhancing its attractiveness.

Given its proximity to the Hexagon (it really is only 30 seconds walk away) I think it's a pity they don't open a little earlier. The menu has many items that I'd have liked to have had time to try but opening at 6pm doesn't give a lot of time if your theatre engagement is at 7.30. If they opened at 5.30 there's be time to enjoy this very nice restaurant more fully.

Anyway, it's really is a nice little restaurant that we'll certainly visit again - perhaps when we have more time to enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious as always”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This restaurant may be a little more pricey than others but you definitely get what you pay for. My partner and I have eaten here regularly and never been disappointed. The Pinot Grigio Santa Margharita is very reasonably priced and not found in many run of the mill Italian eateries. The calves liver is melt in the mouth. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalmersandwicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepe Sale also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pepe Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing