We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Asian Spice Restaurant
Ranked #180 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

So me and my husband have ordered from Asian spice quite a few times in the past and have enjoyed it!
So tonight we phoned placed an order and a rude gentleman took my husbands order only to have the worst service we have ever recived! The man didn't even say goodbye but just slammed the phone down. So after waiting just over an hour we rang to be told it's on it's way then he slammed the phone down AGAIN Half hour late it did arrive, no apologies or anything. The food was cold and tasted terrible. Such a shame as we always enjoyed it in the past.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent value Sunday buffet”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were driving past this small tucked away restaurant and decided to try it as I had been here a few years ago. We were the first ones in at lunch time on a Sunday. We had the £7.95 'All you can eat' buffet. Despite there only being a relatively small choice of dishes they were all delicious and regularly topped up. The chicken wings and onion bhajis were delightful. The main dishes were also very good and freshly cooked. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive. We left completely satisfied and very full. Unfortunately they are closing for a couple of weeks for refurbishment but we will be returning to see the new look restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quietman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with family a few weeks back and as usual it didn't disappoint. Anytime we visit from Ireland to visit family locally we always either get a take away or eat in the restaurant. I noticed they are extending into the shop next door so business must be good. Well recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank Josh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Local Curry Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

First time here for a few years. Visited with friends and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects. Food , staff , value all very good. As previous reviews have said a very compact restaurant. However good news is on the horizon... As it looks like they have bought the unit next door and are expanding..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluemissile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal....”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

It was a very busy evening in Asian Spice and we hadn't booked. They managed to find us a table for 2. Staff were very attentive and food was delicious as usual. Chicken dry fry and lamb tikka curry highly recommended. Perfect Saturday night supper :)

Helpful?
Thank morag w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asian Spice Restaurant also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Asian Spice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing