We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Bel and The Dragon

Bel and The Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel and The Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 625 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
818 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

A good menu without being extensive. Food choice is good for most tastes. Prices are at the high end for a place of this type but not prohibitive. Good service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    209
    106
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very over priced for poor food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Went to the bell and dragon for a birthday meal around 12 of us went,nice looking restaurant high class menu, we all had the garlic bread where you spread your own garlic on the bread(was awful) all of the party weren't impressed then paid £28 each for a fillet steak (the same size as a burger and an inch thick came with 12 thrice cooked chips.was very average food for stupid money it's a shame when you leave with a empty wallet and just as hungry as when you arrive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanker1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Thought would be more WOW”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

First visit. Sadly disappointed. Calamari was ok, just ok. Mussels came with toasted bread which isn't bread as detailed in menu, when asked for more bread it was drizzled in oil. I'd rather eat food than admire it. Didn't realise until we got to till we'd been charged £2 for bread. They took it off the bill though.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Had a warm & nice luncheon there”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just been here today for lunch with friends.. I strongly suggest to book the seat before coming to avoid disappointment... Firstly when I entered the venue, I was amazed with the decoration... It is very warm but sophisticated on the otherhand... The friendly staff lead us to our tables which is a really comfy look...they even put couple of pillows! I end up order marinated & chargrilled sirloin steak for my main course, and sharing macaroni & cheese with friends... +I request my steak to be cooked medium rare...and When I tried my steak... It was melt in my mouth! That's a really good luncheon experience especially in Reading where not many places serve sirloin steak like that.. The portion of the steak is quite big for me, approximately 220gr so I was struggle to finish that (usually i always go for the 150gr steak only, but they dont have that option).... After finish our main course, I ordered a dessert: Warm Gooey Choco Brownie... And i wasnt make a mistake! The dessert was excellent as well!!! The hot brownie meet the cold creme fraiche gave a desirable sensation in my mouth..for overall, It was a really pleasant luncheon while I stay in UK... The staffs are friendly and helpful (they keep our coats while we're eating), the ambience are good and suitable for both families or friends, the location is exciting (wish its not really cold outside, i would love to have lunch outside...maybe on summer?) and the price is fair lah... Four stars for Bel and the Dragon....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Meeting a friend for lunch but a little disappointed that such a great place should serve pretty run of the mill food. Watery, tasteless whitebait that I did send back, amazing spicy parsnip soup with honey and lack lustre blackberry and apple crumble... Perhaps the recent floods have affected the kitchen as there seemed to be a watery theme to the cooking! Not bad service but omitted a course so a little wait to catch up with my friend. No bread to munch on in between and when it came with the other order of mussels it was either toasted or drizzled in oil ( extra slice of bread £2!) Soda with lime... Bill £44.22 even with 1 starter and bread taken off. Too expensive really

Helpful?
1 Thank Ochre999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel and The Dragon also viewed

 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Bel and The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing