We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:01 - 00:00
Save
Review Highlights
Posh versus Plonk

Another great course run by Phil of the Thames Valley Wine School. He has so much knowledge and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Bryan_41
,
Reading, United Kingdom
via mobile
Wine and Cheese Tasting evening - Reading

A relaxed and informal way to be educated about cheese and wine, both of which were very enjoyable... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2019
davidbJ8862KS
,
Earley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
150
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting wset level different wines christopher wren italian wines light hearted great teacher enjoyable evening artisan cheese huge variety of wines great week great cheeses informative sessions tapas evening grape varieties better understanding relaxed environment
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Having recently completed (and passed!) my WSET level 2 course in wine and spirits, I have no hesitation in recommending Phill and the Thames Valley Wine School. Whilst many in the class had far more knowledge of wine, Phill managed to engage everyone in the class. Whilst there was a lot to learn (and taste), the days were enjoyable and rushed past. I look forward to another booking with the school, maybe without an exam at the end this time!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank McDencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Thames Valley Wine School's Introduction to Wine course was excellent. It was the perfect balance of education, practical tips about wine and fun! Phil started the day with a Sabrage demonstration - or how to open a bottle of bubbly with a small sword! Having expertly achieved that Phil then poured us all a glass of excellent Champagne!
The morning wine tasting session involved 6 different styles of white wines, 2 from France, 2 from New Zealand and one each from Italy and Hungary.

Full tasting notes were provided about each wine but we were actively encouraged to say what we thought about the look, smell and taste of each wine. Phil mixed theory with practice and I think we all gained something from his great knowledge of the subject.

A lovely 2 course lunch followed and then it was onto the Red's. Again 6 very different styles. One each this time from France, New Zealand, Spain, Chile, Argentina and South Africa. Again there was more discussion about where wine is grown, how it is produced and the costs of production.

Phil debunked some wine myths and I found the section on matching wine with food very helpful. Phil doesn't sell wine which was meant there was no buying pressure and Phil could talk very freely about all wines and where best to buy them.
All in all a most enjoyable day and I would say overall good value.

Cheers!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank RTW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

My husband and I joined one of Thames Valley Wine School's eight-week courses and thoroughly enjoyed it. Phill is an excellent teacher - enthusiastic, knowledgeable and always willing to answer any questions. We tired a wide variety of different wines from across the globe, as well as some delicious cheeses to go with them. Each week is dedicated to a different region or two, with the first few weeks focusing on France. As well as trying lots of lovely wines, we learnt about wine making, what factors can influence how a wine tastes, what grapes are grown where and why, and many other fascinating topics. The group (about 20 of us) was very friendly and Phill ensured that we had a lot of fun throughout the course. The course is great value for money - the tasting measures are generous and you receive notes from Phill each week after the course. If you are looking for a fun, informative and enjoyable wine course that allows you to try a huge variety of wines, then this is the course for you!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank LauraG2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Had a fab evening - a group of us from work went and Phill got the balance perfectly between educational and having a laugh as well as tasting some interesting wines!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank jenistanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We finished the 8 week course this week. Sampled a great range of wines. We were introduced to some wines that we hadn't tried before and had our perception of others changed (namely Chardonnay...sorry Phil couldn't quite change our thoughts on Gewurtztraminer!) Our only criticism is that it had to end after 8 weeks, what are we going to do with our Tuesday evenings from now on?...at least there is the option of a 4 week Italy course in January. Phil is a great tutor and brings a good mix of information and fun

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews