We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Dinner”

Carluccio's - Reading
Ranked #48 of 624 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$26 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Graduation Dinner”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Five family members ate at this restaurant as a celebration of my daughter's graduation. The food was tasty, well presented and inexpensive. The service was excellent and the premises clean (including the toilets). We arrived at 5:00pm which might explain why it was quiet and the restaurant surely can't be blamed for this. In any case we created our own atmosphere.

I'm glad we didn't read the negative reviews, because we might have missed out on a thoroughly enjoyable meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    147
    59
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was expecting more . . .”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here for a meal with work colleagues, having heard such great raves on it. Although the evening went okay, there was definitely a lack of atmosphere (maybe because it was a weekday).
Also just a small gripe, it would have been good not to have had to ask for our plates to be cleared away. It was almost as if we were an after thought. I imagine this was due to a lack of waiting staff. The food was fine, although lack of desserts, but this was overcome.

Would we return? Probably not as had hoped for something a little more special. That said, maybe you should try for yourself. It could just have been a bad night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wanted to go in this restaurant since long time hoping that the food with service is nice but unfortunately NOT.
We had to wait long for drinks order ,service was very slow , food is a real disappointment .
At least do check back with the food if your customers are happy with their meal or not ,its not that we are eating for free.

If you are doing a customer service and you do mistake ,you need to learn how to apologise and say sorry to your customer rather than turning back and say nothing as if nothing happen its not the right way .
Very careless .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maurizio_93uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent - confidently recommend”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We must have been to Carluccios in Reading about 5 or 6 times now and it is always excellent. Service is good, attentive without being fussy. Food is always really good whatever you order. The sharing starter platter is beautifully presented, plentiful and extremely tasty. The specials are always tempting and Nice deserts if you can manage.
Thoroughly recommend, will always be good and at about £25 a head - excellent value

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice location for a drink in the sun”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped off while shopping for a few drinks. Sat outside, a calm area in a bustling town on Sat, up market feel to the nice square. Nice outdoor area, sat in the sun mid afternoon, cold peroni , when ordering a latte was given a choice of blend. Will definitely pop back to try it for a meal

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gbmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Reading also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Carluccio's - Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing