We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub lunch in a traditional pub atmoshere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Strines Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strines Inn
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great pub lunch in a traditional pub atmoshere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Visited the Strines Inn for lunch last week and really enjoyed the experience.
Great location, old world style Inn in the country, helpful and friendly staff and customers.
Good food, Pedigree ale and excellent coffee after the meal.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
28
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were staying 15m away, but went for a drive and found this pub the Strines inn, off the A57, it was a good 2miles down but worth it. We were greeted by some beautiful Peacocks, who seemed very tame. It was a lovely day, we went in and ordered from a good selection of good value for money tasty food. The rib eye special was cooked as requested, I had the hunters, we ate outside, at the end of September with the pretty peacocks, service was excellent, very friendly staff with good attention to detail. It was a larger venue than first thought, as there were more tables and for September quite a few happy customers. Toilets were inside (for a 13th c pub was a nice surprise), they were also very clean, the whole premises was, litter bins and picnic tables outside with smartly dressed staff. The choice of drinks were again good for money, wide variety, for the drivers we recommend the britvic 55, we then had a tasty hot chocolate and a coffee to finish. We were so pleased we bought the polite young bar lady a drink.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouskasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We often go to strines for a meal and have never been disappointed. The mixed grill is really good and certainly a big plateful! Also the chips are always home made and delicious. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. The views are breathtaking and it's a really old pub - don't often see these places anymore! Good place to get away from it all.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nesta_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

we had a sunday roast dinner here,it was awful,frozen rubbish,potatoes were hard and tasted old,veg was overcooked,meat was bearable but again tasted old,the ,place is dark dirty and dingy,would never go there again,the only good thing about the place is the stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Have been to many nice pubs and restaurants in and around Sheffield and have found them 'Good Value' and 'Good Food'. Well unforunately Strines Inn is not one of those. We decided to visit here for Sunday lunch, I chose the Turkey and my partner the Beef, the wait wasn't too long, maybe it would have been better if it was. Firstly I asked for cranberry sauce and was told we might not have that, but eventually 5 mins after dinner being brought it arrived, by that time we realised there were no yorkshire puddings, so the waitress was asked to get these. After nearly finishing our meals my partner went to look for the waitress who she found having her dinner with no intentions of bringing the yorkshires. she then said they were in the oven and went into the kitchen and appeared with two dishes which she then went to handover to my partner. As for the food, veg was undercooked, potatoes were frozen ones and overall for nearly 9 quid was awful. When we said to the waitress we wouldnt be coming back again she shrugged her shoulders and carried on clear the plates, think maybe a lesson or two in customer services is required here, though if it continues with this type of service there wont be any customers to serve.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivvene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The lock on our bedroom door did not work. The Strines is dark and dingy. The canopy over our double bed was thick with dead skin cells and dust as was the wall light fitting. The windows were dirty, the framework looked as if it had never been cleaned; two or three panes were cracked. The standard all round was poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Ok, lets start with the positive points (and there are many)... My wife and I went to the Strines Inn for an evening and to get away from it all. The Inn is just 15 minutes away from Sheffield city centre but it feels like it could be a million miles away. Set in remote and beautiful surroundings the Inn is set amongst rolling hills which (on a clear day!) look truly stunning. Some great walks in the area will keep the energetic happy and for those just wanting to relax, the Inn offers a fine selection of beer, wine and it's own brand of coffee! (Which was poorly promoted!)

The room was beautifully decorated, with period furniture, a large four-poster bed and incredible views across the moorlands.

We were lucky to arrive on a day when the sun was shining so we were able to sit outside in the grounds and put the world in order, over a few drinks and some lovely food. There are peacocks and peahens roaming the grounds which will happily wander up to the table. They're very tame but this may cause some people not so happy about being so close to wild life! Personally, we thought it was lovely.

Now, to the reasons why we couldn't give this five stars. The staff were very attentive and as we sat watching them run around looking after customers, we could sense there was a lack of direction and drive by some of them. As we were staying in the Inn we were there until the close of the evening, which on Saturday night seemed to end around 10pm when there were only a couple of customers in the bar. We spoke to the girl working behind the bar and she was a great host and spoke openly about the pubs history and was very engaging. What seemed clear to us was that the Inn is lacking real leadership or management. On a Saturday evening the bar should have been busier. Now, some may claim that the beauty of this place is that it is a 'hidden treasure', but I would argue that this is a rather selfish view and believe that, through recommendation and events (arranged by the owner) would see the Inn thrive.

When breakfast came in the morning, we were able to eat in our room and the food again was very good; fresh and freshly made. On leaving we were introduced to the owner (who took our payment) and 'attempted' to engage him in conversation. Either he was pre-occupied or rude, I'm not sure which, but it seemed he couldn't careless about our compliments about the Inn or about our suggestion that a website would be helpful in knowing more about the place. Someone (possibly his wife?) was also in the bar and she was the one who spoke to us most, explaining that "We're normally really busy and it's unusual to get a room on a Saturday evening". When we stated the door does not lock, they told us "It does, but there's a knack to it" (We asked the bar staff the previous evening and none of them could lock it either!).

So, in brief; A wonderful place to stay. Warm, inviting and fantastic location. You may have noticed I've avoided the words 'Friendly' or 'Welcoming', because I don't think it is. I think if you go expecting to be greated by a gracious host, you'll be disappointed. But if you're looking for a romantic break and happy to be left alone, you'll do alot worse than going to the Inn.

Finally, we would like to thank the bar girl who was much more engaging and hospitable than the owner. She made us feel at ease and appreciated our chats. Something we didn't get from the owner.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryHibberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
0.0 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strines Inn

Property: Strines Inn
Address: Strines, Sheffield S6 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Strines Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing