We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Strines Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strines Inn
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped for lunch with my parents and husband we had a nice lunch and love the peacocks,we've visited a few times now and just love the location .only down side my husband said the barman wasn't very friendly after trying to engage him in conversation he gave up its a real shame because friendly staff would add the the strines .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stopped here for Saturday lunch after visiting a few little towns around the area. The special on the day was the steak pie which was just so delicious. The four of us had a hearth lunch and a few glasses of wine before going out the back to see the peacocks parading their feathers. A sight to see. The pub had great atmosphere and the service was very good and in no time we had our meal served. I would certainly come back here again for a meal. We never stayed here.

Room Tip: Order the special of the day and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ale, Jennings Cocker Hoop very good, as always. Food; Cheese Ploughmand dissapointing, plastic cheese and even worse, cheese with bits of blue stuff in it. Dry crumbly bread, not good, and salad drenched with some bitter dressing, chips hot but looked like deep fried, ummmm. Why oh why for such a great location not better food, I guess because it is miles from nowhere, which ironically is the attraction for me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My partner and I spent a pleasant Saturday lunch here.Everything you could want including a roaring log fire, tasty food, we have panini with proper nicely browned chips on the side. The menu had a good choice whether you fancied a snack or a large meal. Lovely real ale to wash it down too! If we didn't live just down the road we might book a room as they look lovely .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Voyagesceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We are local to Sheffield so we went for lunch. The interior is a cross between a taxidermist's paradise and the Old Curiosity Shop, with an open fire thrown in. Wonderful. Three of the four of were disappointed with our choice of meal; the curry was a real mouth burner; the fish cakes were full of peppers; the steak in the pie was tough, but mine was just right! A beef filled Yorkshire pudding. Prices very reasonable and the staff (she behind the bar) was helpful. I don't think it is worth a second visit but the first was worth the views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

To really sample the whole experience of The Strines Inn you should book one of the wonderful rooms and stay overnight!
Each room is cosy and warm,with everything you could wish for,including very comfortable four poster bed and to top it all a fantastic breakfast served in your room,(see pic)whilst looking out over the beautiful,wild moorland,complete with lakes in the distance and peacocks wandering the grounds. We stayed on a wild night-weather wise with roaring winds whistling round the ancient building,but still had a great night`s sleep.It was like some scene from Wuthering Heights,but so much more comfortable! We even think we experienced a visit from the resident ghost!! Don`t worry readers it was fascinating rather than frightening!
The food was good and the bars so cosy with their open log fires and such a friendly young staff.
A good sign was the large number of locals who used the inn.This always augers well!
This was our second visit and we shall soon be back.Christmas must be a great time to stay there-so atmospheric!

Room Tip: All great! We loved The Dutchess of Sugworth`s room.They are all very quiet after 10-11pm and all v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My Yorkshire bride and I honeymooned at the Strines Inn. Being from Miami, Florida, you can imagine how remarkably different the experience was for me... absolutely terrific!
The four-poster bed (complete with long-handled copper bedwarmer!), walls so thick we could put a pillow on the window frame, sit there and gaze out at the reservoir, folly, other historic, pastoral views; imagining the Sheffield-to-London coach passengers who sat here doing the very same thing over 800 years ago!
We went for pleasant country walks, dined on fine, honest pub fare served by pleasant staff in a friendly atmosphere...hand pulled bitter, of course...my favourite! Never, ever, will I get a pint like that in America!
We later lived in Longley, Sheffield, and would often drive out to the Strines for a pint and a meal and a walk, drawn always to the rustic old Inn, the remarkable surrounding countryside. By the way, the film, "The Dam Busters" was actually done here! So much more history, lovely sights, rather than go on, I'll just urge you to go see for yourself!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank stuwh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Briary
The Briary
#40 of 53 in Sheffield
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
371 reviews
17.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
267 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strines Inn

Address: Strines, Sheffield S6 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Strines Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing