We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnfield House
Ranked #3 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's taken me some time to write this review because I can't think of anything original to say; the other reviews say it all. Michael and Helen have a talent for what they do; the place is immaculate; everything is provided; nothing is too much trouble (thanks for the use of the tumble dryer, Helen, it's the couple who insisted on walking round Damflask during the storm) and, above all, they have time for you. The house is ideally located; the views stunning and there's the Bradfield Brewery brewery tap, the Nag's Head just down the road! What more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfozbelper_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
92
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just awarded a gold star and well deserved. We stayed one night with our 17 year old daughter. Two beautiful rooms, very clean and comfy- bathrooms spotless and towelling robes also provided. Yorkshire breakfast wonderful. Lovely welcome- hopefully have an excuse to return

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon030161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This place is probably the best home from home you could ask for! And is certainly one of the best places I've EVER stayed in before. The family run guest house is very welcoming, wonderfully stress-free and extremely well organised. You will receive a first class breakfast, wonderful themed Robin of Loxley room with nice details and very comfortable bed. The dining area and lobby are both very spacious plus Helen and her husband exceptionally friendly, warm and helpful (especially when spotting my signs of a friends wedding party hangover!) I seriously could've stayed all week - and hopefully next time I will. Thank you so much for such a comfortable stay, I will highly recommend that others visit such a beautiful area of GB. Steve S

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Arollingpebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is by far the best B&B accommodation we've stayed in - as advertised it is set in open countryside on the edge of the National Peak Park and has an enjoyable large garden and a large lounge for relaxing.
The owner, Helen offered us a very warm welcome and has lots of experience in the Hotel industry and this shows in the quality and cleanliness of Barnfield House. Lots of little touches - dressing gowns, slippers, chocolates etc which are often only found in top 5* hotels (and not always found in those!!!)
We stayed in the Robin of Loxley Room - an enormous room with extra large king size bed - a real relaxing place to return to after a busy day or, in our case, a friends wedding.
Breakfast - offers something for ALL tastes - the various choices of cooked breakfast is all prepared to order and there is and endless supply of tea/coffee and toast.
Finally, Helen encourages young members of her family to get involved in helping at breakfast and they too are very polite, helpful and professional - obviously the product of Helen's training.
Would readily recommend Barnfield House to anyone looking for accommodation in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are described on the Hotel Website - we stayed in Robin of Loxley which was extremely comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is an excellent B and B just outside Sheffield and on the edge of the Peak District. The rooom we had, a 'superior' one , was just that, large, very comfortable, huge bed, and country views. The breakfast was just as good, with plenty of hot and cold choices, and a 'special' option too (smoked salmon and eggs on our visit). There are handy pubs to eat out, and apparently easy public transport links into the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriecumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Previous reviewers have said it all. Certainly the best B&B (or hotel) we have stayed at. Spotlessly clean everywhere, lots of thoughtful touches in the comfortable rooms and a great breakfast – why can't other B&Bs offer a decent vegetarian breakfast?
We will be looking for an excuse to return asap!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louthrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a top of the range B&B. Lovely rooms, very, very clean, excellent service from very friendly hosts and a wide choice from a lovely, tasty, breakfast menu. The slippers, dressing gowns and chocolates were a lovely additive to a thoroughly welcoming B&B. Top Class !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank branny1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.0 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
4.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnfield House

Property: Barnfield House
Address: Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and first class hospitality await you at our luxury guest accommodation. Uniquely located in the beautiful surroundings of Loxley Valley on the edge of the National Peak park, yet only minutes from the vibrant city of Sheffield - Barnfield House really does offer the "best of both worlds". Our award-winning breakfast menu is bursting with high quality local produce to give our guests the best possible start to the day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barnfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing