We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay :)”
Review of Barnfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnfield House
Ranked #3 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North east England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay :)”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Having taken my boyfriend to Barnfield House for our anniversary a couple of years ago and having had a fantastic stay there, he surprised me with a visit there this year for my birthday.
We stayed in the Will Scarlett room this time, having tried out Friar Tuck before. There is really only one word to describe the stay - just like last time: PERFECT.
I am a very frequent traveller, both in the UK and internationally and I can honestly stay that Barnfield House is my favourite place to stay anywhere.
The house is perhaps a little difficult to find if you're staying there for the first time but the directions given on the website are very helpful. This doesn't mean that it is badly-located. It is a 5-minute drive into Sheffield city centre and to the Meadowhall shopping centre and the peak district is, quite literally, on the doorstop.
All of the rooms I have tried so far have had stunning views out over the peaks, have been immaculately clean, beautifully presented, very comfortable and with every facility one could need (en suite complete with the usual freebies plus cotton wool and some other extras not usually found elsewhere, an iron, an ironing board, a luggage rack, TV with DVD player - and DVDs to borrow for free downstairs..........)
The day we arrived Barnfield House was hosting some sort of party, however this was finished by mid-afternoon and did not in any way impact our stay. There was a bouncy castle and we were invited to try it out before the children arrived if we wanted, which I personally thought was quite sweet.........talking of which, there were again bowls of sweets dotted around the house for people to nibble from. I thought this was a great touch last time we stayed.
The breakfast was divine. There's a very wide selection of hot and cold options and we tried the daily special of smoked salmon on scrambled egg with herbs grown in the house's own garden.
The two wonderful hosts were as ever extremely friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble - they were even happy to let us borrow their freezer!
My recommendation - STAY THERE. If you ever need to go to Sheffield or the surrounding area you'll probably never stay anywhere else again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spophle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
94
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a wonderful B&B. The room was very spacious, plenty of room for 2 adults plus a teenager. There were lots of thoughtful extras, and the view up the valley was beautiful. It is a very peaceful, rural location on the edge of the Peak District, but easy to get into Sheffield city. The breakfast has to be one of the best we've ever experienced..... a very generous buffet with lots of choice (eg cheese and cold meat as well as yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries....), and the cooked breakfast was fresh and delicious, with locally-sourced ingredients where possible. The breakfast room was very spacious, and outside the French windows was a well-positioned bird feeder, so we watched the birds while we ate breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We would have to agree with all that has been said already. Very nice, clean, great hospitality, great breakfast and lots of nice added extras. It is close enough to Sheffield but just out in the countryside to get a relaxed nights sleep. Thanks for all your help Helen!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2010

What a find this bed and breakfast. We had a lovely stay in this beautifullly kept house.
Helen goes over and above with service and attention to detail.We will return later in the year and have recommended Barnfield House to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day break at this B&B just outside (6 miles) of Sheffield and on the doorstep of beautiful countryside. The room was very large, helpful with a toddler, and beautifully decorated.
We have an 18 mth little boy, and he was made to feel very welcome.
A big thanks to the owners, as I left his comfort bib and Helen very kindly sent it back the next day :-)

Will stay again if in the area

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBsBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Just enjoyed our second stay here. Barnfield House is a real find - exceptionally peaceful with the Peak District National Park more or less on the doorstep yet very close to Sheffield city centre. Everything about the place is of the highest quality - the rooms, the breakfasts, the service - with obvious care being taken with every little detail. The hospitality extended to guests by Helen and Michael is second to none. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
420 reviews
4.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnfield House

Property: Barnfield House
Address: Loxley Road | Loxley, Sheffield S6 6RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and first class hospitality await you at our luxury guest accommodation. Uniquely located in the beautiful surroundings of Loxley Valley on the edge of the National Peak park, yet only minutes from the vibrant city of Sheffield - Barnfield House really does offer the "best of both worlds". Our award-winning breakfast menu is bursting with high quality local produce to give our guests the best possible start to the day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barnfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing