We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Throughout”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cross Scythes Totley
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quality Throughout”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this charming little hotel and genuinely could not fault any aspect of it!.
Staff were great, food was top notch and the room I stopped in was finished to a very high standard and provided everything I needed during my stay. The rooms balcony was a lovely surprise especially when the sun come out this morning
I would not hesitate to recommend the Cross Scythes to anyone and look forward to stopping there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    37
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
61
65
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

What a find ! A lovely old pub very friendly staff nothing too much trouble. The restaurant was clean and welcoming, the food was wonderful I had the salmon, I do not remember ever having better, this would not be out of place in a London restaurant, the chef should be proud of the food coming out of his kitchen.

Just one point the mattress, was a little hard.

Would I go back ! Yes.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms but very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally444Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Tempted not to give a good review as it was such good value and i would hate it to be full next time i want to stay.
Absolutely no complaints or issues. Just pleasant memories.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian-g-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

2nd night of a 2 night business trip, Keen to be home but could not drive the remaining 150 miles without falling asleep so booked into this Sheffield hotel on the basis of its TA reviews.
Arrived about 7pm hungry and having been shown to room went down to eat in restaurant. Was able to pick my table so I picked quite a large one for a single person but that was no problem. Its very pubby but that was nice, and made it feel quite homely really. But a tad grubby - tables could have been polished and I hate tatty paper menus when fresh ones could be easily printed and dont go on at me about the environment for that its just not clean.
Whige over everything else was pretty perfect. Had a MASSIVE bowl of mixed olives instead of a starter - best value ever. Then - lovely pub food - corned beef hash with a poached egg and streaky bacon (yummmm). After that I wanted just a light pudding - some ice cream. A couple of scoops of ice cream was not on offer, but made available with no fuss. Pistachio and vanilla , yummm again.
I was able to stretch out at the table for four just to myself, read the paper, play on my iphone and enjoy the food. It was easy to feel comfortable here. The waiter was delightful, he was new, and friendly.
Breakfast - generally from 8.30 (on a workday?) was scheduled a little late but they were happy to accommodate me at 7.30 at my request and full breakfast was available if I wanted it. Scrambled egg and beans on wholemeal toast - perfect, and cooked rather than lying in a bain marie for hours.
The room was clean, nice, good shower, simple but I slept well. Quality tea and coffee.
Would I return? For sure, this place was so welcoming, unassuming and high quality.

Room Tip: talk to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsimaxrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Great value hotel run by enthusiastic staff team who seem to aim to please whenever they can.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, fine for a one nigh stay. This pub is nicely furnished, with tasteful furniture and decor. The location is also good. Centre of Sheffield is a half hour bus ride away and you are just on the edge of the Peak District National Park.

Breakfast is very good with a good choice of dishes. It is an additional £7 but good value at the price, and up to the standard of breakfasts in much more pretentious or expensive places.

The pub has a nice atmosphere with a good range of real ales including Timmy Taylor's and other local guest beers.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are furthest from the road but passing traffic is not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a review of the food and not of the accommodation at The Cross Scythes. We had lunch here earlier in the year and decided with 4 friends to have dinner. I have to say we all thoroughly enjoyed our food and the menu had something for everyone - it was good to be able to have the smaller portions or light bites. The place has a nice ambiance and we all commented on how well trained and friendly the staff are. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at The Cross Scythes, Totley immensely and we will definately be back. My husband was exhibiting his art at a local art gallery, Smart Art Galleries of Totley and they recommended and booked the hotel for us. They could not have chosen better!
The hotel from the outside is charming, quaint and oldie worldie. Inside the hotel there is a very warm welcome awaiting you, a really nice atmosphere and a recently refurbished stylish interior.
Check in was swift and we were shown to our room. The room was lovely, excellently laid out and very clean.
The staff were all very friendly and professional. The food was first class.
It was way more than good value for money! Highly recommended and that's something coming from me, I'm quite fussy about hotels as I usually only stay in hotels with at least 4 stars and am an ex hotelier myself.
Well done to all at the Cross Scythes, a marvellous team!
Looking forward to our return visit!
Thank you!

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 rooms and they are all located on the same floor and next door to each other, we fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
2.6 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
353 reviews
4.2 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.9 mi away
The Briary
The Briary
#39 of 53 in Sheffield
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Scythes Totley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Scythes Totley

Property: The Cross Scythes Totley
Address: Baslow Road | Totley, Sheffield S17 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Scythes Totley 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of the peak district and 15 minutes from the city center. All rooms are en-suite double rooms and a home-cooked full English breakfast is provided at £6 per person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Scythes Totley Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing