We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cross Scythes Totley
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Halifax Hall(Sheffield)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$387
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
109
38
19
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
38
19
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub restaurantsunday lunchsharing starterordered the chickenvisited recentlyyorkshire puddingtea and coffee facilitiesfull englishvisiting familybreakfast was deliciousafternoon tealovely roomcar parkales
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have visited the Cross Scythes for a post Christmas meal with family that are local,enjoyed it so decided to give it another try on a visit to the Peak. The pub was quiet so we were looked after but the food was the star. Corn beef hash, the 'special' burger, sausage and mash and fish cakes were ordered and very fresh and tasty they were. Not over facing portions but enough for you to want a pud!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Phod10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We called here on spec whilst taking our daughter back to university. We saw the Gastro Pub sign on the wall and gave it a try. It was a good call, the food was innovative and well presented and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Little-chef49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

It had been a very busy week and we decided to go out for a Saturday evening meal. The place was busy but we had a table in the bar. My wife and I agreed that we had the best meal we have experienced for a very long time. My wife had the Lamb, I had the Pork. Both dishes were well prepared and presented. The flavours were superb. I have paid much more and not enjoyed the food nearly as much. The service was polite, efficient and friendly. We were made to feel very welcome and got the impression they valued our custom. All in all a very satisfactory evening. There is no doubt that we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank johnthebattery46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for one night while in Sheffield for a friend's 60th birthday nearby. Returned to the bar at 10pm and had a tasty late dinner, a sound sleep and a hearty Yorkshire breakfast in the morning. We felt like we were at home from home because of the comfort and the warm welcome. Will stay again whenever we are in the Sheffield area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

On arrival we were shown to our room which was very cold due to the radiator having been turned off. Otherwise the room was very clean with toiletries in the en suite. There was Tea and Coffee facilities. Plenty of bedding but the actual bed was a tad hard. On the first night I was kept awake by the clattering of pots and pans from the kitchen below our room and the same on the second night. At 3,45 on the Sunday morning I was woken by someone banging on the outside doors. They went round every door banging and shouting, obviously having been locked out. This noise continued until 4,30 .am when it suddenly stopped. We had a meal on the first evening and breakfast. Both meals were very good and the service was satisfactory. We were accommodated in room 2 which as I say was clean, but, when I came to use the shower I had difficulty getting in to the cubicle because the space between the doors was so narrow. I am not the smallest bloke around but this was ridiculous. Squeezing into the shower almost took my skin off. back and front! All in all this hotel was adequate for our needs at the time but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large shower and not above the kitchens
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews