We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experince”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experince”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just had an overnight stay at this hotel and were very pleased with our stay. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left the staff were excellent. They were pleasant, polite and helpful. We were going to see a show at the Arena and asked if they could book a taxi. The taxi arrived to the minute and the taxi staff were excellent (Mercury). They were so good when we left the Arena we rang Mercury and we got a return taxi by the time we had walked to the pick up point.
Now to the hotel, the room (410) was a refurbished modern room but I believe all rooms are. It was large well appointed and nicely furnished and clean. There were tea & coffee making facilities and flat screen tv. Baring in mind it is priced as a budget hotel, we have stayed in more expensive hotel in far worse conditions. The toilet/shower room was clean and light but again no frills.
We ate in the restaurant & whilst the menu did have an extensive choice, it is good enough to please most. The food came hot and well presented and was reasonably priced. Again bar and waiting on staff were pleasant and polite.
At night, the bed was very comfortable and whilst prefer the room cooler, we turned off the electric heating. We tried opening the window but the noise from the traffic on the surrounding roads, was too noisy. (There are air-conditioning units in the rooms but they are disconnected).
Breakfast was excellent, buffet style and would have been cheaper if booked in advance but was still only £7.95. We again met Susan the assistant manager who was very helpful & informative.
Overall a very enjoyable stay wished we'd had an excuse to have made it longer. We will certainly recommend and stay again at the earliest excuse.
Thanks.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms are of a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger21Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    167
    64
    38
    23
See reviews for
119
256
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Travelodge for one night, 6th/7th December 2013. We were met at reception by Gill and Susan who were so kind in all the information they offered to us which may our stay in Sheffield superb. Thank you both. It is a fabulous base for the trains, trams and shopping centre at Meadowhall which is huge. The rooms hacve all recently been re-furbished and to an excellent standard. All so clean, warm and cosy. The bed and shower was excellent. Suprisingly it was also very quiet during the night. We learnt from a Travelodge area manager that we met that this hotel has been purchased by Travelodge and not built for them. If only all the other Travelodges and their staff were as good as this in the UK! We shall certainly retrurn and recommend it to family and friends. Travelodge is on the way up at last. Thanks.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 on the ground level but a superb place/room. Close to everything and next time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 474rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The service was great, the rooms were very clean and tidy no faults at all would recommend a stay there and will book again. We booked into the rooms had a meal went to see a show at Motopoint always staff on reception great location for shopping and for shows. Would recommend anyone going to see a show to stay overnight at Sheffield Meadowhall Travelodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked here for overnight stay with daughter to coincide with a weekend of Christmas shopping at near by Meadowhall complex. Very convenient location allowed us to leave car at hotel and walk to shops. Staff were superb - very helpful, pleasant and polite. Room was spacious, warm and comfortable and despite overlooking busy main road we heard nothing through the night. Beds were comfortable, bathroom spotless, shower faultless - all in all an excellent stay with no negatives.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriscurtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I had not stayed at Travelodge for a while as I felt the quality had gone down, however, needing a hotel at short notice decided to stay here as it was reasonably priced and just of the M1. I was delighted and surprised at the quality of this hotel especially at the price we had paid. It was exceptionally clean and had been refurbished well. There was a facility for dinner in the hotel as well as a bar. We prepaid for breakfast which gave a reasonable saving. My husband felt the choice in the cooked breakfast was quite small but I personally felt across everything that was available we had plenty of choice. The staff at this hotel were great and gave a warm welcome and made sure you had all the information your needed for your stay. This has made me rethink my attitude to Travelodge and I won't be so quick to ignore this chain when booking hotels in the future. Well done Travelodge for exceeding my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just spent a night at this Travelodge which really makes me reconsider these hotels. The refurbishment is lovely, clean well maintained and furnished rooms, really comfortable beds. I thoroughly recommend this one. Just one thing - Travelodge, please provide 2 chairs for 2 people not just one! And when 2 people book in advance, it should not be necessary to request 2 bath owels! Otherwise a great hotel stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here a few weeks ago for an event in Rotherham. The hotel was easy to find and in a convenient location close to Meadowhall and main roads/ motorways. The staff on the front desk were helpful and polite. Even though we didn't eat here, the deals and prices on the food and drink seemed reasonable. The room was bigger than expected, very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable although slightly higher than average height off the ground. The bathroom was clean and the shower had great water pressure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
9.0 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel

Property: Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Address: 299 Barrow Road, Sheffield S9 1JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing