We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL, POOR MAINTENANCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL, POOR MAINTENANCE”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a good business hotel with large rooms, a good breakfast, etc. However it is let down with poor maintenance. One of the lifts was not working which is inadequate for a 7 storey hotel. Worse was the fact that my shower was locked on the scaldingly hot position which meant I could not have a shower or bath and it was dangerous. If they can fix this problem which I guess stems from management, it would be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Reiver59,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the frustration caused by the defective shower mechanism in your room. This is a design flaw which we are gradually working through as part of our capital replacement program. Equally, allow me to apologise for our one lift being decommissioned. Unfortunately, this was as a result of a safety precaution in the interests of guest safety whilst we await a replacement part due for fitting on Thursday 12 December.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future where we will be able to demonstrate our usual standards of hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    412
    101
    36
    22
See reviews for
137
549
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived and were checked in by smiling helpful reception staff who remained that way though out our stay.
Our room was on the 7th floor so was nice and quiet, it was large, nice bath and shower all were very clean
Plenty of tea and coffee in room
The hotel was very busy and seemed to have meetings/party in the bar are which was not good if you were eating or trying to order a drink
We ordered a snack before going out for the evening but waited so long had to cancel as taxi had arrived, the bar staff were great but I could not say the same of the bar manager who I found rude and aggressive when he had to refund the cost of the snack but he was good at barking orders at the staff.

Breakfast was good and the staff were great nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear 318linda,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

Please accept my apology that our bar manager came across as rude when arranging your food refund. Allow me to assure you that I will take the necessary action to correct this behaviour for future ocasions.

I trust that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel and we will have opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked a one night stay on the BB and three course meal package for Sunday1st Dec. As previous reviewers have said the hotel exterior is more akin to an office block but the interior is very modern and contemporary. Check in process was quick, only minor hitch was they allocated us a standard room rather than the club room booked but this was rectified immediately when we notified them. The hotel rooms and public areas were exceptionally. All staff members were friendly and chatty.
The food at dinner and breakfast (buffet) was plentiful and well cooked, some items were available cooked to order at breakfast if required eg salmon, kippers etc.
Overall an excellent hotel and the package rate we paid made it unbelievable value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offawayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear offawayagain,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed response after your recent stay with us. We are very appreciative of your super compliments and delighted that you so obviopusly enjoyed your stay.

We trust that you will choose to stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallasey uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked 3 club rooms for a graduation and they were all excellent. The rooms were clean modern and with great facilities. There were drinks include which was good and the staff could not be more efficient and friendly, my first trip to Sheffield will use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: the club rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear tonywest4,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent visit.

We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your first stay with us.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The second time we've stayed here. We were pleasantly surprised the first time and the second time didn't disappoint. The rooms are very nice, as is the bar and reception areas etc. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Only a 10 minute walk into town or £4.50 taxi at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb198632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Seb 198632,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

It would appear that you are becoming one of our most valued regulars!

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

we stayed on Saturday 30th November and were given a room on the second floor in the middle of the hotel. The room was lovely, very clean and smart. We went out on the Saturday for a meal and a couple of drinks and returned to hear an awful noise coming from the room below- heavy bass speakers.
We were informed by reception rather abruptly that there was a function on the floor below and that it would not stop till over 1am. However it was so loud we couldn't hear the television and there was a constant thudding sound.
When we rang reception again to see if the noise could be turned down, a different person answered - who could not do enough to help- and we were offered to change rooms. This was better and we managed to go to sleep much easier.
it was overall a genrally nice stay and the hotels interior is beautiful but wish we were told on arrival that there would be a function on and offered a room on a higher floor. Don't think I would return however the staff were generally very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Natalie 1624,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the noise disruption caused by the tribute band we hosted on our 1st floor. As we do not normally have such issues when we hold functions in the Yorkshire Suites, we have thoroughly investigated the cause. We have established that it was due to the siting of the speakers alongside two support columns running all the way through the building which acted as conduits for the bass speakers.

I am able to assure you that this will not happen again as a result of our learnings and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne for one night and the facilities were great value for money. The hotel has parking, which is often a difficulty with a lot of the city centre hotels, and the location is great. It's a short walk (10-15 mins) to the city centre and we had a night out on London Road, which is only a few minutes walk. We had a room that looked out onto the main road but the sound-proofing was really good and the blackout curtains were excellent! We were really pleased with the room and the comfort and quality was really good, especially at this price. We have lived in Sheffield so we know the city well and would definitely stay here again if we're back for another visit. Staff on reception were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear MoJo029,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your positive comment on our reception staff's friendliness and efficiency.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing