We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in December as part of a coach party.First impressions are of a modern beautifully appointed hotel. The rooms are excellent and vary in size/arrangement. Decor is very tasteful and the bathrooms beautiful with low bath/overhead shower. The bed was comfortable tho the duvet was a bit too heavy. The evening meal was ok and personal requests were attended to by the lovely staff. Seating was individual. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of options to the ' full english'.
The hotel is adjoining the Blades football ground.

My lasting impression is the staff. They were so attentive and friendly and added greatly to an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were located at the front of the hotel on the main road away from the football ground. My sister...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumblintum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Rumblintum,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

I am particularly pleased to receive your positive reinforcement of our staff and the service provided to you and your coach party. We are fortunate to have a superb group of committed and guest-oriented staff working with us. I will ensure that they all receive a copy of your review at our next staff meeting in January.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Clean friendly staff convenient for center of sheffield ,good breakfast lovely stay and a fab room with comfortable beds a great hotel will recommend to all my friends ,Great stay very easy access from motor way, with plenty of free parking Also great free internet access ,The room was tastefully decorated with lovely soft lighting great flat screen tv with excellent reception ,

Room Tip: All rooms of same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Krystyna D,

Thank you for submitting such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed overnight in late December. Parking wasn't an issue for me but potentially could be as the hotel shares it's car park with Sheffield United Football Club.
Nice, warm, professional welcome. 24 hours free wi-fi.
Stylish reception, bar & restaurant front of house.
Bar service slightly slow but courteous.
Lovely decoration: warm browns. High quality fittings.
Beautifully clean and well equipped bathroom.
Was paid for by work so couldn't comment on value.

Room Tip: Due to city centre location, views are not available. Double glazed so quiet. 107 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammerithome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Hammerithome,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Please allow me to assure you as well as all of our guests that parking arrangements are always set up with the stadium (we are jointly owned) for our residents when there is a match on and although busy, we have yet to run short.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel on Monday 16th December and felt compelled to write a review as I was so impressed with the accommodation, service & value for money.
Check in was quick and the receptionist was friendly, polite and personable.
My room was very large and newly decorated, nice big comfortable bed and a white towel dressing gown in the bathroom which was a nice touch and completely unexpected! The only negative would be the shower, kept running hot and cold and not powerful enough to rinse my hair properly.
I ate dinner in the restaurant in the hotel and felt as though I was in a 'proper' restaurant! Great service, yummy omelette with proper ham and cheese and friendly staff.
All in all, I thought this hotel was well worth the money and so much nicer than staying in other well known 'budget' hotels in the area (as well as being cheaper!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki1williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear nikki1williams,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your constructive comment regarding the shower functionality - we will be sure to have our maintenance team rectify any malfunction for future guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us when you stay in Sheffield again.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Went to the Copthorne for a Christmas Party night, turned out to be not a good idea, poor service, even poorer food and long delays, overpriced drinks. There were about 200 or so people packed into the room with little space between the table people pushing past you to get to the bar, the service was poor not enought staff serving the meal too well over two hours to serve, cold starter okay but soup was not very warm, dessert quite nice but main course very poor two wafer thin slices of turkey over cooked parsnips three small roast potatoes and an object they called stuffing. no entertainment apart from poor disco and all this at a cost of £30.
But then again its Christmas and when the punters have had a few drinks down them some people think they can get away with anthing but we wont be booking there next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Bill B,

Thank you very much for your review of our Festive Christmas party after your recent visit. We view all feedback received very seriously as it assists us in monitoring our standards of service and hospitality.

Please accept my apology that we clearly did not meet your expectations. I would be delighted if you could give me a telephone call at the hotel which will allow us to discuss the issue further.

I hope to hear from you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I came on Friday for my work's Christmas do. I didn't have high hopes as most work dos aren't known for their good food just for a good drink. However I was pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous, I enjoyed every bit. Service and quality of the food was great. If I had to find a negative it would be very petty but the sprouts were a bit over done for my liking. Hardly worth mentioning. Everything else was delicious. Will certainly be going back to experience the food again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank ReginaFalangyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear ReginaFalangyUK,

Thank you for your positive feedback received on our Festive party night. I am so glad to hear that you had a great evening with us.

We sincerely appreciate your super compliments and hope you will join us again for one of our tribute evenings in the New Year.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated.
Check in and out were hassle free.
Music from the Xmas party 2 floors below us could be heard, but we were advised about this at check in.
Left early so didn't have breakfast so can't comment.
Would definitely stop here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pubgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Pubgirl73,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your commenst and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thnak you also for taking such a forgiving view of the noise disruption from our Christmas function. I do hope that you were not overly disturbed.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing