We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here on valentines. This was out first valentines together in the 5/6 years we've been together and I loved every minute. The staff were lovely and helpful. The hotel was very prestigious and exclusive. We stayed in a club suite which was lush! The bed was soooo comfortable I could have slept for days. We ate in the bar area & both had the rib-eye steak which was delicious!!! It was a particularly windy night & I'm sure there was a vent of some sort in the room that made it quite loud but you can't blame the hotel for the weather! Breakfast was again delicious, a wide range of food. The only thing I would say was that they didn't make sure our table was fully prepared with sugars, milk & sauce like the other tables so we had to take them off used tables. Someone actually came to our table and asked to take our stuff as well. However, overall, we both really enjoyed our stay. Luxurious, comfortable & welcoming. We would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hindlemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Hindlemo,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your special Valentine stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding service at breakfast and it will be actioned with the service team as a way of further improving our consistency of standard.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    414
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
140
553
68
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently stayed here on a business trip, the room was very nice, the bed was comfortable, the only thing i found was the room was slightly cold, and the shower was just a little trickle. however, the breakfast in the morning was very tasty. for a one night stay it was good.

Room Tip: try and ask for a room not on the roadside - can be very noisy, almost like a window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jodie M,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the issues encountered with the room temperature and shower pressure. I do hope that these experiences did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here recently while on a business trip in Sheffield. Located close to Sheffield football arena. The location is nice and quite - short walking distance to London road, where there are more restuarants. Thanks to the free parking facility !

Mine was a breakfast inclusive king suite room. The selection of continental breakfast very good. The bed was comfortable with all the necessary things handy - mini refrigerator, iron board, hair dryer, toiletries, extra towels, fresh bed linen, beverage tray, local information brochures etc. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and they have provided safety rubber mat to use in tub

The only trouble i had was with the TV remote being a little troublesome one.It didnt work efficiently. Was taking too much time to navigate through channels.

Overall i had a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Stayed in room number 226. last corner room @ 2nd floor. Very quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Snow G,

Thank you for your valuable and detailed feedback received after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thnks to your review, we have arranged immediate replacement of the TV remote to ensure no future frustrations in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst visiting Sheffield. It's a lovely modern hotel attached to Sheffield United football ground so really easy to find. Plenty free parking and only a short stroll into the city centre.
The staff were lovely - very friendly, courteous and helpful.
Room larger than I expected, high standard bed & fittings and very clean. Bathroom excellent.
Can't fault the hotel in any way.
Got a deal for £35 on their website so all things considered it's the perfect place to stay in Sheffield

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear WAFC,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

I am delighted that you were able to take up our recent special offer and trust that you will check our website for similar offers in the future and stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for one night for £68 which was a real bargain esp with free parking. We stayed here on a match day (hotel is right next to sheffield utd brammal lane) if you stay on match day make sure you arrive in good time before kick off as they close the roads around the ground. We arrived a couple of hours before and were fine. Good service. Room was nice, only critisim was pillows were not the softest but im sure we could have mentioned this on reception and we would have been sorted. The duvet was quite crumpled and when we first waked in we thought bed hadnt been made but again it was just how it had been left. We paid for breakfast and it was OK. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamDevito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear NottinghamDevito,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the pillows and duvets. I do hope that this did not detract from your overall stay quality. We are in the process of replacing these items as part of our ongoing asset refresh program and have no doubt that you will note the difference during future stays. We do also have a range of alternate pillows available on request via our housekeeping if required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stay at this hotel on a regular basis to visit family in Sheffield and we've nothing but praise for the staff, the rooms, food etc. The hotel is 10 minutes' walk away from the centre of the city, but the rooms are very quiet and comfortable. We'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear ChristineC,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you continue to enjoy your regular stays with us.

We look forward to having you visit us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

booked for me and friends, for my partners birthday september 2012 for a night. nice modern hotel, very good price. no problems, very close to town centre. room was clean, but very dark not much light at all, (not good for girlies doing their make-up!) reception staff were ok, friends and boyfriend really enjoyed it. would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear tilss,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

Please accept our apology that the in-room lighting was not as bright as desired. For future stays, please let us assist you with additional portable lighting which we can place in the room for you.

I trust that this did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing