We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I travelled here with my son from Ireland for a united match. An incredibly professional and clean hotel. We loved the blades memorabilia in the lobby as well, nice touch.

We didnt expect the team players to be hanging around the hotel either, which just added to the experience. I would have to a long way to find problems with this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and very informative about the area and breakfast was top notch.

Pity about the result though, we should have beaten brentford :-(.

Ill definitely be coming again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank likestotravel529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Likestotravel 529,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your positive comment regarding the relationship we have with our football club next door - I am delighted that you were able to interact with some of our team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Room pleasant and very clean. Circular bath a bit of a disappointment as of course you can't have a nice long stretch out in a circle. Bit fell off shower in morning.
The reason for 3 stars was the poor breakfast service, never had cold tea and coffee before. Lady cooking eggs looked quite cross, lack of staff. Man at next table to us even more unhappy than us.
Just not the high standard relaxing meal we had hoped for.
Location good if you want somewhere handy for city centre and Sheffield united ground.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123debbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear 123Debbie,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the lapses in standards that you experienced in our breakfast room during your stay. Please be assured that these experiences do not represent our usual standards and that the team will be addressed appropriately to avoid any future recurrences.

I am particulalrly disappointed to note that this spoilt your stay in our premier room but I do hope that my response has sufficiently addressed your concerns and that you will consider returning to stay with us again when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stay at the Copthorne every time we plan a stay in Sheffield, we love this hotel and always stay in a queen room with a sofa. The rooms are always spacious and really well designed, always perfectly clean, excellent value with excellent service and can never fault it.

This time however, as we stayed for one night we decided to book a club room as a treat, we thought we love the normal rooms so much that the club room must be amazing.

We got into our club room and were really disappointed at first sight. It was smaller than the cheaper rooms we usually stay in. No sofa, just an arm chair as well as one behind the desk. Decoration wasn't as nice either, and bed seemed smaller. We were just expecting something special as the normal rooms are so lovely, so we felt a bit let down.

We asked to changed rooms and were able to, we were given a spacious room on the corner of the building with good views (although it had two fire doors in it, presuming that this room was an adjoining one). However, there were marks on the ceiling and wallpaper which seemed a bit off for such a nice hotel and a club room. We were given free drinks, one being a j2o and we weren't given a bottle opener, we didn't want to ring down to reception about it as we would be charged £3 for room service for one to brought to us, which defeats the point of an included-in the-price drink. We had a complimentary newspaper (which never arrived!) and had a breakfast included as well which was good, but the room really didn't feel £80 a night value compared to the 50 a night we pay for a standard room which is always lovely and can do no wrong.The shower curtain also did nothing to keep water off the floor, water pressure was bad and we ended up using one of the dressing gowns we were given as a make shift mat to put on the floor as it was soaked and we had minimum amount of towels.

It might just be because we love the other rooms so much that our expectations were too high?

We'll come back, we just won't get a club room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor facing the stadium for a good view! Just book a normal room, these a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bespectacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Bespectacle,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology that our club room did not exceed your expectations. As a result of the building design, we have a number of room configurations and sizes. I would be delighted if you would contact me directly via the hotel when you next plan to stay in Sheffield. I would appreciate the opportunity of upgrading you to one of our larger club rooms to hopefully make up for your disappointment.

I am very glad that this experience has not dissuaded you from returning to stay with us again and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on Saturday night whilst at a sports tournament on the area. The hotel is very modern and clean. The room is very spacious with a lovely bathroom and amazing shower. Thanks to whoever wrote a review on here about the main light switch being on the desk, it took us a while looking for it before I remembered :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank suse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Suse8,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst visiting Sheffield to see the World Snooker Championships at the Crucible Theatre. Our overall experience was very positive. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and had a very comfortable bed. We had breakfast every morning and ate enough to last us almost for the rest of the day. So we must have enjoyed it. And the staff were all fine with us.

Any grumbles were fairly minor. Nonetheless, it would be helpful if the doors to the rooms didn't slam quite so loudly. We were disturbed by these noises once or twice during the night and similarly we might have woken a few people by our own door shutting behaviour. Aside from this, though, the hotel was very quiet indeed. We deliberately picked it because it was a ten minute walk away from the town centre.

On a lighter note, and I preface this by saying we really aren't as stupid as this may sound but, we struggled to turn the lights out on our first night. The switches by our bed did not turn out all the lights, nor did those by the main door. We searched the room high and low for other switches but to no avail. This farce went on for a few minutes as we contemplated ringing reception to ask how on earth we turned off the lights. But then we found a secret switch hidden on the desk in the corner of the room and finally found the answer. It amused us but it is a ludicrous place to put a light switch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Stanlion,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the irritations caused by the location of the overhead light switch. This is a design issue which we hope to rectify by re-wiring these circuits within the course of this year. Equally, please accept my apology for the noise disruption caused by the door closers on some doors. This is an issue which we continue to address by adjusting the strength without compromising the fire safety or guest security within the building.

I do hope that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've never been terribly excited about Copthorne hotels given previous experiences but this is a very nice and well run hotel. The room was large with a king size bed. Free wifi always helps. I got a good room only rate and paid £8.95 for a very nice buffet breakfast. The majority of staff in the hotel are quite young but they were very polite and professional - a credit to the supervisory staff for ensuring great standards from their teams. I would give 5 stars but a few of things let the room down. You couldn't open the window which was a bit annoying and the staff hadn't cleaned off the greasy marks that people's noses had left when they admired the "wonder" that is Sheffield utds ground. Also there were 2 chairs in the room, one had the stuffing coming out and the other was uncomfortable to fit in for more than 5 mins. Comfier chairs would certainly be welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr Morley,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality and allows us to identify any lapses that may occur.

Please accept my apology for the window cleanliness and state of repair of one of the chairs in your room. Please be assured that corrective action will be taken with our housekeepers regarding their cleaning vigilance. I am also able to assure you that the occasional chairs in the rooms are due for replacement within the summer which will alleviate this shortfall.

I do hope that we will have opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the Copthorne on bank holiday Sunday.
Upon arriving at the hotel we found the car park to be full, so we parked in the Sheffield United car park which is directly next door. We inquired at reception who said this was fine. But i can image on match days parking would be quite difficult.
Check in was quick and we were soon given the card to our room.
The room was lovely and big. Had a big TV on the wall and the bed was very comfy. Plenty of extra pillows and covered in the cupboard.
There was a mini fridge and tea & coffee facilities.
The view was overlooking the car park, as my other half is a massive Sheffield United fan, he probably would have preferred one looking onto the pitch but it was fine for me! lol
We had lunch in the hotel which was very nice but a little overpriced for two sandwiches. But after all this is a 4 star hotel. Lounge and bar area is nice and there is plenty of seating.
We had buffet breakfast the next morning which was a range of cereals, fruit, pastries and hot breakfast. Eggs are cooked separate to your liking which was a nice touch.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the copthorne and would definitely come again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room which was just as good as the club. Go for a room high up for views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mubsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear mubsie,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

I have taken note of your comment regaring parking on Sheffield United match days and can happily assure you that while the area is naturally very busy, we lease a number of bays in the car park for our resident's exclusive use. As a result, our guests are never inconvenienced and have an allocated parking bay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £53 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing