We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good and excellent value”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here prior to a conference in Sheffield. I booked through the Copthorne website, and stayed in a Club Room with breakfast included.

Overall excellent stay. The hotel is located beside Brammel Lane (Sheffield United Home Ground) and I am sure it is very busy during the season. The room was excellent, extremely comfortable and offered fast free wifi.

Location is good, especially for an early morning run, however watch out Sheffield has some hills!!!!

As I arrived late I ordered from the room service menu and food very good!

Well worth the stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear PaulQuinn,

Thank you for your feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your super comments and are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us.

I have also noticed that you enjoyed (sic) our Yorkshire hills that we are so famous for!

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    414
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
140
553
68
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
362 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I'm really impressed with this hotel and it ticked all of my hotel boxes. The check-in was speedy and friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean with a sofa and flat panel TV. Coffee and tea making facilities were there if required.

The bar had a great seating area / lounge and the staff were eager to please.

The best part for me was breakfast, because the guy running the show was brilliant. He had the whole place under control and welcomed ever guest and then seated them. He was chatty, friendly and eager to cater for people's diets, such as the lady who asked for soya milk, vegetarian sausages and cheese.

The room rate for a weekend night was modest and the car parking was free too. For those who like football it is next to the Sheffield Wednesday ground!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Youngklaus,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your excellent feedback to Robert in our Breakfast room.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the moment we were welcomed by the receptionist until the time we checked out we were met with courtesy and friendliness. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts were very tasty and the dinners were delicious. The bruschetta with caramelised onions for starters was superb and I can recommend the duck, very different. It was accompanied by raspberries and hazelnuts. All staff were very attentive throughout our stay.
We were able to visit The Peak District National Park, Hardwick Hall and Bolsover Castle during our short stay as these attractions are all close at hand. We also had time to walk into the centre of Sheffield to get a small taste of this exciting city. It is well worth a return visi.t

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious and have a fridge, great for the chilled drinks that are supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 774Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 774Francesca,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. I have noted that you were able to see some of our most popular visitor attractions and hope that your enjoyed your visits.

Thank you for the exceedingly positive feedback on our restaurant - I know our chef will be delighted to receive such a superb endorsement.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we arrived the reception was over flowing (later learned a party had just arrived) but no problem, we were attended to immediately and were offered free Wifi for the duration of our stay, (3 nights) free glasses of wine and crisps each evening and free morning paper of our choice for the 3 days.

The staff are very helpful and pleasant .

A short walk into town, about 15 mins.

Would recommend .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martharose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Martharose7,

Thank you for your feedback received after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay.

I am pleased to see how much you enjoyed your upgraded club room amenities and ee look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here when visiting Sheffield to watch Dawn French at the Lyceum. Hotel was about 10-15min walk from the city centre next to football ground.

The rooms were very modern & appeared to be recently renovated - bathroom was lovely & air com welcome as the room was hot on arrival.

Our room was on the top floor with a nice view over Sheffield & although there was some road noise this didn't stop us having a very good nights sleep.

Would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matilda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Matilda52,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here (even though not far from home) as we were go to the theatre. The hotel is very nicely decorated and clean. The room we had was large with lots of room to move around. The bed was comfortable. The staff are friendly and attentive. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the glass bathroom door. It looks very nice and stylish but, it was very heavy and made a loud clanging sound when you closed it. You could also hear people from other rooms closing their bathroom doors!

The restaurant is worth a visit on its own :) We had dinner here and the food was awesome; a lot better than we thought it was going to be, far better standard and quality than your normal hotel restaurant food. Again the staff in the restaurant were friendly and attentive.

The breakfast was very good. A very good selection of hot and cold food. I didn't like having to keep asking for coffee though; I think the waiter got the huff on. I’d prefer it in a pot on the table.

We will definitely stay here again when we go the theatre. The room with a 3 course dinner for 2 is cheaper than 2 taxi trips and dinner elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book early online and get a larger room for a cheaper price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwalsh000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Wwalsh000,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you particularly for your positive feedback on our restaurant and breakfast. We really do appreciate your compliments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me and five friends stayed here for one night for a change of scene from Liverpool and could not have been happier with our deal. We paid £24 each for twin rooms with a free drink, a packet of crisps (!) and breakfast. The rooms were really spacious with robes and the works which was a pleasant surprise and it was an easy walk to town and the train. The bar was lovely, breakfast was great and the staff were great! Highly recommended for a girls weekend away :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EFC0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear EFC 0704,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel.

I am delighted that you and your friends had such a memorable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing