We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday upgrade”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be advised at check in that we had been upgraded to a club room as it was my birthday.

Very comfortable room although layout strange, could not see the television when sitting in the comfortable chair, bathroom ok and clean but a little small for the size of the room.

Free soft drinks from the mini bar was a nice touch, as was free drinks and snacks from the bar.

Had room service breakfast which was served on time and of good quality.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyteNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear whyteNottingham,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that we were able to enhance your birthday celebrations with us.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    412
    101
    36
    22
See reviews for
137
549
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a good Hotel but unless you are a Football supporter (the Hotel is located next to Sheffield United’s Ground), there is not a great deal close by (the City Centre is about a 20 minute walk). The Car Park was a fair size and free so after unloading our cases we checked into the Hotel to be greeted by the Professional Reception Staff. Our room was situated on the third floor and by the Lift but because of good soundproofing, we never heard a thing.

The room was large and fully kitted out with a Fridge, Tea and Coffee facilities, a large Desk, Flat Screen TV and a reasonably comfortable Bed. We were issued with a number of passwords to access the Internet, but one was enough and it never cut out for the duration of our stay. The Bathroom was large and modern but for such a classy Hotel why do they still have grubby (and smelly) Shower Curtains that are hung too far into the bath so you cannot avoid them. We think in future we will try and find out if the room has Shower Curtains before we book!

We didn't have Dinner in the Evening but spent a very pleasant (good atmosphere) but disappointing evening in the Bar watching the England Team being knocked out of the World Cup.

Breakfast in the morning was very good with a good choice of Hot Food, Cereals and Fruit but no Cold Meats or Cheese.

A very comfortable and modern Hotel that was spoilt by the Shower and Location.

Location: 3
Presentation: 4
Bed comfort: 4
Bathroom facilities: 3
Cleanliness: 4
Soundproofing: 4
Food: 4

On the night England lost 2-1
Feel good time cut short - out of the cup
Take away that clingy mouldy memories
Feel good time cut short - plastic shower screen....not so clean

On the morning Breakfast at its best
Nice to have a cuppa green rosy lee
Take away Apple not in sight
Nice to have fresh bread and bacon ...to start the working day
© Paula Jubilee

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andy G,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with such insighful and delightfully humorous feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel.

Please accept my apology for the shower curtain - I am afraid I cannot change this any more than the unfortunate football results! In all seriousness, I do understand the frustration and can assure you that they are regulalrly laundered and replaced to at least guarantee the cleanliness and freshness.

Thnak you for your superb compliments on the hotel and overall experience and I do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne And Wear, Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 1 night, on breakfast and evening meal basis.

I stay in many different hotels across the country for work, and I could not fault this one at all. Rooms where spacious, I'd only booked a standard room however it had a sofa as well as a desk and bed. Bathroom was faultless.

Meals and drinks are not exactly cheap but if it's what you expect, if you want cheap you stay in a premier inn ect. All food was good.

Staff were good

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scott-adele-megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear scott-adele-megan,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for the photos posted and your positive comment regarding the food within the hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in March this year for weekend after finding an excellent deal on line for two night. Only stayed on 'room only' basis. View from third floor room was football stadium(stand/concrete walls) - approximately 10 metres away which wasn't a problem for us as not in room a lot but could appreciate why some may not be happy, especially on a match day. Room comfortable, clean and modern, fairly large with settee. Nice spacious bathroom. Sheffield city centre about 25 minutes walking distance with shops etc on route. Taxi in to town centre around £7. Large free car park.

Room Tip: If you dont want a view of football stadium request side or front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

Please accept our apology that your view from your room was so dominated by the stadium. I can see that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel but would urge you to request a higher floor room with better views in the future. Thankfully it is the minority of our rooms that are located in such a way

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and we were upgraded to a club room. Room was spacious and really comfortable although would prefer to Air conditioning to be a bit cooler. Nice bathroom, robes and slippers. One little gripe was we thought that the power points could have been more accessible, they all seemed to be under something or behind something meaning we had to contort ourselves in order to make use of them!! Studenty area so plenty of low priced restaurants around which had really good food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear TraceyGLancs,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the irritations caused by the location of the overhead light switch. This is a design issue which we hope to rectify by re-wiring these circuits within the course of this year.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, Norfolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed one night in a club room. On arrival told only included continental breakfast and if we wanted full would cost another £13 -did not say that on website. Room was very nice but no complimentary paper in morning as stated and receptionist said on departure if we wanted one would send someone to shop so didn't bother. Breakfast was okay but no continental meat selection had to ask for it although on buffet menu. Overall not what I expected but it was okay not really four star standard and staff not overly helpful

Room Tip: Club room offer disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Anneandfamily,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for your disappointment with aspects of our club room package and the lapse in service regarding your newspaper delivery. Equally, please accept my apology that our breakfast selection did not meet your expectations. These are issues which I have addressed with the staff and management responsible.

I do hope that this experience did not detract from your stay to the extent that you will not return to stay with us again. I would hope that on a future visit, we will be able to demonstrate our usual standards to you.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came up to visit our daughter at Sheffield university and this offered very good value.
Staying on a Sunday when utd weren't playing it was quiet , parking no problem and the rooms were pleasant.
We had a drink at the bar , which was fine - nothing special and the staff were all friendly enough.
For 1 night this was fine and provided what we needed which was a clean comfy room close to our daughter.
We didn't eat at the hotel , so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing