We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service excellent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent service excellent rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times on business using the conference facilities. The bedrooms are excellent very large with an excellent high spec bathroom and all the facilities you would expect. The conference facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food is not gourmet but is very good and compares well to other hotels of a similar size. We'll be using the hotel again not least because the service, cleanliness and rooms are all excellent. Need to stay in Sheff, look no further!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nick R,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    410
    100
    36
    22
See reviews for
135
548
67
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room was a great size but, as it was designed for disability, the shower was difficult to use. It would have been considerate of the staff to have mentioned at check in. However what made the room truly awkward was the weirdest room light configuration of any hotel ever stayed in. The main lights cannot be switched off from the wall but on the desk panel?! Finding this out took a trip, out of bed, redressing and going back to the front desk at 1am to question why the wall lights didn't turn out the main light. The front desk clerk seemed to think the question was amusing considering it happens all the time. Apparently this lighting quirk is a design issue in the remodelling of the hotel. Why the hotel staff don't tell the guests on check in was a really basic error that shows a lack of consideration for the guests. Poor service issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minisara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear minisara,

Thank you for your review and feedback on our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the irritation caused by the location of the overhead light switch. As my staff informed you, this is a design issue which we are aware of and will be rectified by re-wiring the room circuits in due course. Equally, please accept my apology for the dismissive manner with which my night staff responded. I can assure you that we take our guest's comfort and feedback very seriously and a more empathetic response should have been forthcoming. This will be addressed with the staff members concerned and additional training implemented to ensure that all guests are informed on arrival.

I do hope that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had 4 nights here with work, rooms were excellent and very comfortable with massive beds

Breakfast was excellent and we ate there each night just as good

Service also very good nothing too much trouble

Would highly recommend

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mattBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MattBlackpool,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be advised at check in that we had been upgraded to a club room as it was my birthday.

Very comfortable room although layout strange, could not see the television when sitting in the comfortable chair, bathroom ok and clean but a little small for the size of the room.

Free soft drinks from the mini bar was a nice touch, as was free drinks and snacks from the bar.

Had room service breakfast which was served on time and of good quality.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyteNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear whyteNottingham,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that we were able to enhance your birthday celebrations with us.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a good Hotel but unless you are a Football supporter (the Hotel is located next to Sheffield United’s Ground), there is not a great deal close by (the City Centre is about a 20 minute walk). The Car Park was a fair size and free so after unloading our cases we checked into the Hotel to be greeted by the Professional Reception Staff. Our room was situated on the third floor and by the Lift but because of good soundproofing, we never heard a thing.

The room was large and fully kitted out with a Fridge, Tea and Coffee facilities, a large Desk, Flat Screen TV and a reasonably comfortable Bed. We were issued with a number of passwords to access the Internet, but one was enough and it never cut out for the duration of our stay. The Bathroom was large and modern but for such a classy Hotel why do they still have grubby (and smelly) Shower Curtains that are hung too far into the bath so you cannot avoid them. We think in future we will try and find out if the room has Shower Curtains before we book!

We didn't have Dinner in the Evening but spent a very pleasant (good atmosphere) but disappointing evening in the Bar watching the England Team being knocked out of the World Cup.

Breakfast in the morning was very good with a good choice of Hot Food, Cereals and Fruit but no Cold Meats or Cheese.

A very comfortable and modern Hotel that was spoilt by the Shower and Location.

Location: 3
Presentation: 4
Bed comfort: 4
Bathroom facilities: 3
Cleanliness: 4
Soundproofing: 4
Food: 4

On the night England lost 2-1
Feel good time cut short - out of the cup
Take away that clingy mouldy memories
Feel good time cut short - plastic shower screen....not so clean

On the morning Breakfast at its best
Nice to have a cuppa green rosy lee
Take away Apple not in sight
Nice to have fresh bread and bacon ...to start the working day
© Paula Jubilee

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andy G,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with such insighful and delightfully humorous feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel.

Please accept my apology for the shower curtain - I am afraid I cannot change this any more than the unfortunate football results! In all seriousness, I do understand the frustration and can assure you that they are regulalrly laundered and replaced to at least guarantee the cleanliness and freshness.

Thnak you for your superb compliments on the hotel and overall experience and I do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne And Wear, Uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 1 night, on breakfast and evening meal basis.

I stay in many different hotels across the country for work, and I could not fault this one at all. Rooms where spacious, I'd only booked a standard room however it had a sofa as well as a desk and bed. Bathroom was faultless.

Meals and drinks are not exactly cheap but if it's what you expect, if you want cheap you stay in a premier inn ect. All food was good.

Staff were good

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scott-adele-megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear scott-adele-megan,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for the photos posted and your positive comment regarding the food within the hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in March this year for weekend after finding an excellent deal on line for two night. Only stayed on 'room only' basis. View from third floor room was football stadium(stand/concrete walls) - approximately 10 metres away which wasn't a problem for us as not in room a lot but could appreciate why some may not be happy, especially on a match day. Room comfortable, clean and modern, fairly large with settee. Nice spacious bathroom. Sheffield city centre about 25 minutes walking distance with shops etc on route. Taxi in to town centre around £7. Large free car park.

Room Tip: If you dont want a view of football stadium request side or front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lynn T,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality.

Please accept our apology that your view from your room was so dominated by the stadium. I can see that it did not overly detract from your enjoyment of the hotel but would urge you to request a higher floor room with better views in the future. Thankfully it is the minority of our rooms that are located in such a way

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing