We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. We got a disabled room. No complaint there. We also got told at check in about the lights as mentioned on a previous review. They needed to be switched of at the desk. The room was clean spacious and comfortable. We paid extra for breakfast. The choice and quality of the food was excellent. The only small complaint i would have is that the duvet was lumpy. We will defiantly return to this fab hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nightfever13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nightfever13,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your recent experiences at our hotel.

Please accept my apology for any discomfort caused by the duvet in your room. We are in the process of replacing our duvet inners and have no doubt that you will note the difference during future stays with us..

I do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again when you next visit Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    412
    101
    36
    22
See reviews for
137
549
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and didn't sample any other other facilities, so this review is based on the room only. The room itself was clean and well decorated, the only thing I had an issue with is the location of the desk. Made it awkward to do hair and make up in the mirror. Overall would definitely stay again, the bed is soooo cosy!!
Must add as well the lady on reception was when checking in/out was very friendly and approachable and also has a great memory!! Excellent service!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Vicky G,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your positive comment on our reception service - I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

top hotel...relaxing rooms....love the tv wall,what a great idea.fridge in room.took me 3 attempts to find the wardrobe....glass cupboards galore,lovely.breakfast very nice.reception are is very nice and all staff friendly .deffo recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyTurner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Deae Mandy Turner7,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you particulalrly for your comments on our reception and staff friendliness.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here during Sheffield International Documentary Festival. All the hotels had been booked out and this was the only thing left. It was cheaper than the premier inn, in town and was 100 times better. I have stayed in lots of Premier Inns in my time and this was one of the best hotels i've ever stayed in. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. The TV had a few problems with Sky Sports but that didn't bother me. As other people have already mentioned the lights had problems with them being not on the same switches but after i found them and left them off it was fine.

The food was great in the morning, normal run of the mill cooked breakfast and fruit etc. The staff were helpful and very nice.

The area the hotel is in isn't the nicest (I already knew this) you have to walk through a very grim underpass to get into town, so if travelling back late a Taxi is essential, arriving back at 1am-2am the staff were very accommodating in letting me into the hotel and didn't think i was just some idiot outside.

all in all a brilliant stay, i can't wait to hopefully return next year. I would recommend this hotel if you are coming to Sheffield and don't mind a walk or taxi ride

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcfc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear dcfc24,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here 3 times on business using the conference facilities. The bedrooms are excellent very large with an excellent high spec bathroom and all the facilities you would expect. The conference facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food is not gourmet but is very good and compares well to other hotels of a similar size. We'll be using the hotel again not least because the service, cleanliness and rooms are all excellent. Need to stay in Sheff, look no further!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Nick R,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room was a great size but, as it was designed for disability, the shower was difficult to use. It would have been considerate of the staff to have mentioned at check in. However what made the room truly awkward was the weirdest room light configuration of any hotel ever stayed in. The main lights cannot be switched off from the wall but on the desk panel?! Finding this out took a trip, out of bed, redressing and going back to the front desk at 1am to question why the wall lights didn't turn out the main light. The front desk clerk seemed to think the question was amusing considering it happens all the time. Apparently this lighting quirk is a design issue in the remodelling of the hotel. Why the hotel staff don't tell the guests on check in was a really basic error that shows a lack of consideration for the guests. Poor service issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minisara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear minisara,

Thank you for your review and feedback on our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the irritation caused by the location of the overhead light switch. As my staff informed you, this is a design issue which we are aware of and will be rectified by re-wiring the room circuits in due course. Equally, please accept my apology for the dismissive manner with which my night staff responded. I can assure you that we take our guest's comfort and feedback very seriously and a more empathetic response should have been forthcoming. This will be addressed with the staff members concerned and additional training implemented to ensure that all guests are informed on arrival.

I do hope that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had 4 nights here with work, rooms were excellent and very comfortable with massive beds

Breakfast was excellent and we ate there each night just as good

Service also very good nothing too much trouble

Would highly recommend

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mattBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorVels, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MattBlackpool,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing