We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Good location.”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Was in Sheffield to visit the eldest at Sheffield Uni. Picked this one from Tripadvisor. The reception staff were excellent, the room was very pleasant, the restaurant was good (and busy). Value for money no complaints. Would have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for your positive comments and recommendation.
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. May we wish your eldest all the best at Uni - and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Sheffield.

With best wishes from the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    412
    101
    36
    22
See reviews for
137
549
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London/Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

No wonder it has good reviews. Really nice hotel, the decor was interesting but great quality, service was great and the resturant was really nice too. Rooms are spacious and well organised; you have to put a bit of effort into finding the kettles wardrobe etc. or you could just read the leaflet but thats cheating, i like to really earn my cup of tea!

Location not too bad, about 15 minute walk to city centre or £4.50 in a cab.
Can't get better for this price, I am only confused it isn't 5* it deserves to be.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Sheffield.
By the way, you're not the first to have difficulty locating the tea and coffee making facilities and fridge, so that is why we have the guest directory in the rooms now. Glad you found them anyway.

With best wishes from the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stopped one night (Fri) with my hubby, due to a special offer he received through Shefield United football club. I had only seen the hotel from the outside, and it looked nice enough, but once inside it really is lovely. The bar and reception area are both very stylish, with lots of nice seating. You can tell the hotel is pretty much brand new, as everywhere is clean and no signs of wear and tear.

The room, although on the small side, was also very funky, with glass doors, a flat screen tv and lovely decor. The lighting was not the best, as the room was a little on the dark side, but the bathroom had nice bright lights, and nice modern fittings. My only complaint really about the room was that there was no mini bar (it had a fridge, but I do like to have a glass from the mini bar upon check in), and did not provide bathrobes, unlike other hotels I have stopped in on short breaks.

All in all tho, would recommend to anyone wanting a fairly central hotel in Sheffield. There are more central hotels, but it really only is 15 minutes stroll into the town centre, it has free car parking, unlike many other city hotels, and of course you have the advantage of being next to the football ground!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel following your stay with us, when you were able to take advantage of a complimentary bedroom.

The hotel does have bathrobes - these are available in our executive rooms along with slippers and other additional extras.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel - and may we recommend that next time you stay you take advantage of our 24 hour room service to order your drink.

Best wishes from the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

After considering which hotel to stay at for my business trip to Sheffield i took advise from Trip advisor once more and chose the Copthorne. On arrival staff were polite and directed me to my room. As i got into bed i noticed a loud clicking coming from one of the vents in the ceiling. After a few minutes of the constant clicking stopped and i fell asleep. During the night the noise started several times which woke me up on each occasion. After fiddling with the heating it stopped for a while but then sure enough at 3am it started AGAIN! I couldn't face moving room at 3am as i had a really important meeting the next day and needed to try and sleep. Some time later i fell asleep with a pillow on my head and vowed to discuss this with hotel services in the morning. When i first logged my complaint at 6am with a phone call the member of staff was quite helpful and said he would pass it on to duty manager but when i checked out the reception staff were less than helpful. When i was asked 'has your stay been ok with us?' i responded with the above story and got nothing more than 'ok i will pass that on to maintenance!'. No offer of good will or apology! What a shame...it's a nice hotel but i had a terrible restless night as a result with a fault in the room and i left tierd and angry and the poor customer service i received. Dissapointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiefoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. Your comments are very important to us.
Please can you e mail me your contact details in order for us to get in touch with you regarding this - marketing.sheffield@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.
With very best wishes from the Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times with my partner. The good aspects are as portrayed in the other reviews. I've tried a couple of other hotels in Sheffield and I'd definitely stay here again over elsewhere.

If you book early enough you can get an excellently priced room.

On our first stay they kindly upgraded us to one of the large corner rooms on the top floor - this was a lovely room but there was an adjoining internal door to the next room and noise from the rowdy group in that room travelled through. On our most recent stay we were not upgraded and had no noise issues at all in a standard room.

We hadn't paid for breakfast, at check in we were offered half price breakfast (£7 per person). I prefer to eat breakfast in local cafes so we turned down the offer and tried nearby Cafe Euro on John Street (off Bramall Lane) but it wasn't great. Next time I would have breakfast at the hotel as there didn't seem to be many other breakfast places near the hotel.

At checkin/out it can get quite busy and you have to wait a while - so leave yourself time if you've got a train to catch.

Staff service has always been very good. An example: on my most recent visit I was half asleep and went to visit the toilet during the night. Instead of opening the bathroom door I opened the room door and ended up locked out in the corridor with just a t-shirt on. Lots of knocking resulted in no answer from my partner. I've never been in this situation before and felt so embarrassed! Fortunately it was about 4am so there was no one in the corridor. I went to the lift area and there was an intercom so I called the front desk and explained the situation. The staff member was very discreet and brought up a keycard - the lift opened, he handed me the card and then he left again. I appreciated his professional manner and was very glad to get back in the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick0_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed in the Copthorne, Sheffield for 2 nights in September 2010. The hotel is adjoining Sheffield United Football Ground and I'm not sure what this would be like on match days but the area was very quiet the days we were there. There is not much to do in the immediate location, not really any decent pubs or bars but we walked into Sheffield
City Centre during the day which only took us about 15 minutes. The hotel itself is lovely.
We went on one of their special packages with dinner (with a bottle of wine), bed and breakfast. The room was lovely and spacious, the food was excellent and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathym84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopthorneSheffield, Marketing Executive at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your 2 night break with us so much - thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again on your return to Sheffield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a fairly new hotel and the standards are exactly as you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are great and really have that luxury feel about them.

Copthorne do a best price guarentee on their website - managed to find a better price on the web and get a discount on an already great price.

Located just too far to walk from the city centre its only a short taxi ride to there or the near by Eccelshall Rd where there are lots of trendy bars and food places.

Great staff, free parking, impressive standards all round...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me95csh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Property: Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Address: Bramall Lane Cherry Street, Sheffield S2 4SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing