We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Tasty Curry”

Flouch Balti Restaurant
Ranked #217 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$58
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Flouch Balti, located in the Flouch Inn in Hazelhead, is a hidden gem near Sheffield specialising in Balti Indian dishes. The restaurant, with dark burgundy walls, potted plants and a bubbling fish tank, is a popular with local couples and families and is a fun place for parties and celebrations. The kitchen is renowned for their delicious curries, and poplar items from the menu include the Chicken Tikka Masala in a creamy sauce; the Prawn Balti cooked with garlic, chillies and masala sauce; and the Tandoori Palong – chicken cooked in the tandoori oven then sautéed with garlic. Flouch Balti also serves Kingfisher beer alongside an extensive and reasonably priced wine list.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Curry”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Tried this place on a recommendation and also because we have driven past it recently and it reminded us to try it. It was a really nice evening. The staff are very helpful and offerered advice to recommend dishes and when the food arrived it was lovely. It seems a bit strange going downstairs when the upstairs is now closed, but don't let that put you off it is worth a visit. We will return to try the Sunday buffet!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    23
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Didn't do it for me”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Lots of reviewers have been very complimentary about the Flouch Balti and I hadn't been for years, so thought it would be worth a visit.

The building, in the middle of nowhere, looks like it's falling apart, really dilapidated - in fact it's hard to imagine there's an eatery in there - but once down the staircase, the restaurant looks very attractive and there were plenty of customers tonight.

Our starters of a mixed kebab and tandoori chicken were quite nice, but the mains were a real let-down. We both went for a Balti - this being their speciality - but my "lamb" had the taste and texture of beef and was rather bland and boring. It was served with an undercooked, flabby naan which I would have liked to change, but by the time a waiter appeared it was too late.

It wasn't the worst meal I've had, but it certainly wasn't as good as I'd hoped.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Despite being a 15 minute drive from our home - this is our regular curry house (for both eat-in and takeaway). The simple reason for this is the quality of the food - best in the area, can only be rivaled by curry I have had in Bradford center. If you want real curry (not pub curry and chips) then give it a go it is well worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Poor food, poor service and unacceptable wait time, that kins of sums the place up, can;t think of anything else to say as that seems to cover everything.

Not sure how this place stays in business, location is poor for an evening as it's near to nowhere and with so many good Indian restaurants everywhere serving food ten times better than here all seems a bit odd, form a very bemused, disappointed diner!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely people lovely food”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ive been going to the flouch for years now and the service and quality of food is still superb. The staff are very friendly and they respond well to children that at times can get a little bored. Ive never had a bad curry there ever. Well done lads keep it up

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flouch Balti Restaurant also viewed

Penistone, South Yorkshire
Penistone, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Flouch Balti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing