We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Above our expectations”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Twenty plus family and friends were booked into this Premier Inn for two nights for our son's wedding. The first night we had arranged a meal at the restaurant, pre booking meals for 18 people, which was a great success. The service was excellent, the food of a good quality and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had liaised with Jo over the last few months and cannot praise her professionalism and attentiveness more highly in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeltWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    386
    93
    21
    13
See reviews for
342
356
97
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was our first stay at a Premier Inn and we thought it was excellent. Parking is very good and we felt the car was secure. The welcome we recieved was excellent and made our stay. We were staying with our two year old for two nights and on arrival her bed was made up and there were enough towels and pillows provided in the room for three people. We didn't need to ask for anything which was great. On returning to our room on day two we found the chambermaid had tucked our little girls bears into her bed which i thought was lovely. The hotel is very well located, a stones throw from the city centre, but the only thing we heard from outside was the occasional siren as it past, which was maybe twice in two nights. The shower was amazing, huge and very powerful and very easy to control the temperature. Plenty of pillows, fresh towels even though it wasn't requested but we did need dry ones so that impressed me too, the staff were friendly and polite, we weren't disturbed by anyone and not needing to check out until 12pm was great. One thing though was the Wi-Fi was very expensive so we didn't use it even though we needed to really. We had an excellent stay. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 610 which wasn't facing any street but instead the inner triangle of a big empty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 677AWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Second stay at this hotel for three nights. Cannot fault this hotel in any way whatsoever.
It is right in the centre of Sheffield with free car parking. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are well-equipped and clean and you can control your own heating/air-conditioning or have the windows open if you prefer. Rooms are large, showers are hot and powerful and good quality toiletries are provided. Towels are plentiful and beds and pillows must be the comfiest we have ever encountered.
Tried breakfast this time. It was of good quality and price and was constantly refilled.
Slight noise one night but not sure if it was from inside or outside of the hotel and was not bad enough to disturb us much.
Give us Premier Inn over Travelodge anytime and this Premier Inn is one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We booked our stay in this Premier Inn following comments on tripadvisor and were delighted with our stay. The hotel was easy to find, the secure car parking was right under the hotel and free. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The room was immaculately clean. The buffet breakfast was extensive and of excellent quality. The only negative comment would concern the awful noise made by the bathroom door - but we just left it open. We would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kells, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed one night, August bank holiday Monday. T his was our first time in Premier Inn and we were suitably impressed. Check in and room excellent. We were on the back so it was very quiet. Free car park was great. Neither were hungry enough for a big breakfast so we "passesd". One fault was having to pay to use a credit card as we couldn't use our Laser card.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked this room for the bargain price of £29 but would have paid more. The hotel is in an excellent city centre location and is very modern and clean. The staff are very attentive and brought an iron up to our room only a couple of minutes after requesting it. The room was spacious and well-furnished. the bathroom was quite small, having the sink in the room rather than in the bathroom but this was not a problem for us.

The bar area was very pleasant and we had a drink there before going out. We had a grab and go breakfast the next morning (croissant and coffee) and this was also pleasant.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had the main event of a university reunion, an evening meal, at the St. Mary's Gate Premier Inn and some of us stayed overnight. We were delighted by the helpful way that the restaurant manager listened to our requests and made sure that we had a fantastic evening. The waitresses, bar staff and reception staff were all friendly and attentive. The food was really good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing