We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff, good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very quiet from both inside and outside noise. The shower was great and the bathroom overall was very clean. The bed was decent, never the same as your own, but good for a hotel. The facilities were very good, as was the view from being on the 11th floor! The price was super too. We didn't eat here but there were plenty of places nearby. Really appreciated the free and secure parking, too. Overall, a great hotel and stay.

Room Tip: The 11th floor was quiet and had a great view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very good hotel. Easy access with free parking on two levels with a security gate. Very curtious friendly staff. I stayed on an overnight business trip and all the staff spoke and ensured everything was to my satisfaction. Very good offer on restaurant for evening meal with a good choice. Room was very clean, wi-fi easy to access.
Down side was staff need to be a bit quicker when serving food between courses in restaurant.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is the second stay at this Premier Inn during the last three months, whilst it does what it says on the tin if the staff tried just a bit harder they would achieve excellence.

The staff are particularly friendly and helpful and this hotel has multiple floors with a safe and free gated car park, easy access to the third floor reception and whilst it is self service check in, it is simple and there were two members of staff on hand to assist if required.

The restaurant and bar are in the same room and are very spacious and contemporary with the buffet section for the famous Premier breakfast tucked away.

The two lifts swiftly take you to your allocated floor and the whole building has an air of plenty of space. The rooms have the vanity area recessed into the bedroom which is handy for filling the kettle and a sliding door leads to a toilet and very large shower cubicle with a seat.

Unfortunately I had a handtowel in the shower room which appeared to have make up smeared on it (the check out receptionist was very apologetic) and when greeted for breakfast the staff member failed to order poached eggs with the kitchen that I requested, however I did note that the same waitress was on duty last night so may have not received sufficient rest to function correctly at 07.45 in the morning, that said I would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Have stayed here twice now, both times have been excellent. It is always cheap enough for a Saturday night (£70 between 2) and it is very close to everything for a good night out in Leeds. Excellent rooms and an excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We enjoyed our visit last December so much we decided to use this hotel on our way to the north of the country. It was just as good as we remembered. The staff are so friendly and efficient and you know that you will have a very comfortable night in a very clean and good sized bedroom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here May bank holiday Sunday after a gig at the O2 Academy. We paid £40 for the room and parked for free in the hotel's car park. We had no problem finding the car parked which is clearly signed.

The room was spotless with a decent power shower, comfortable bed and choice of pillows. We were on the ninth floor and weren't disturbed by noise outside. The hotel is pretty new so the public areas are immaculate. We used the automated check in without any problem but staff were on hand ready to help.

The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Peace Gardens, Division Street, West Street and Ecclesall Road so plenty of choice for eating and drinking. We arrived back from the O2 about 11 and ordered drinks but food ordering finished at 10.30. The reception staff have a stash of takeaway menus and recommended a great pizza place which delivered to reception in about 30 minutes - we ate it in the bar area. Buffet breakfast was pretty good with fresh food being brought out regularly.

I would stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migsywigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

On check in we were greeted by Chantelle who was very attentive throughout the check in experience, self service check-in with the machine was different but still impressive.
The room was spacious, clean and smelt fresh which is always a bonus when staying away. Bathroom with shower was fine and 30 mins free wi-fi was also a nice touch.
Breakfast was superb and a mention must go out to Charlotte who was also very attentive and explained the breakfast process with self service. She always had a smile and was very chatty. Sometimes hotel staff can just grunt at you in the morning but Charlotte was brilliant so I hope the management read this and make sure Charlotte and Chantelle receive some vouchers or something because of the sterling work they did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robborobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing