We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

automated check ins reduces queues, very clean and tidy and handy for the city centre

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    397
    96
    21
    14
See reviews for
358
369
98
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We wanted somewhere to crash after looking at Leeds Uni that day ,before heading for Sheffield Uni the next. The twin room was a double with an extra bed - so the daughter in the extra couldn't reach the bedside light. The bathroom was so small the sink was in the bedroom, and no bath to soak tired feet - just a shower.I was told all the rooms were like that so no point in moving. We did walk into town for a meal - but it was a long walk through very unappealing streets. I paid £49 and that did not include breakfast. We spotted a novotel the next day which is a short skip from the train station and closer to town. I'll be trying that if next daughter wants a look at sheffield! I'd rather pay a bit more and have just a little bit of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitofposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel.

Once again thank you for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I really wanted to give the Premier Inn a 4 button - 'very good' rating instead of the 3 button 'average' one I've given it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the price was very reasonable.

What stopped me from giving it a higher score was the fact that I'm a light sleeper and even as late as 11.30 on a Sunday night, there was still lots of city centre traffic noise, even though I was up on the 10th floor.

If you're a good kipper, then I'd definitely recommend this hotel, but if like me you're a light sleeper, I'd have to recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L4dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over half term to spend some time in Sheffield (where went to uni and so have lots of happy memories) and see diving at Ponds Forge. We were happy with the location of the hotel just at the bottom of The Moors and about ten minutes walk into central Sheffield, the free (and secure) parking, the room itself (though not much of a view) and the quality of the breakfast and staff who were all very friendly. Our only concern was some of our fellow guests, being familiar with this area of Sheffield I wasn't too happy (as travelling with two young children) about the number of luggage less couples checking in on a cash only basis, if you get my drift, though in fairness to the premier inn staff they were asking for ID etc as they state they will at reception and in these times a paying guest is a guest I guess. I say this based on some of the conversations we heard between these 'couples' in the lift rather than an assumption on the people concerned I should add.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billybobbybobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Good location, quick walk to centre. Automated check-in didn't work (never do), but staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast paid as extra, but great choice and filling. Bed seemed to be a smaller double, although room was plenty big enough to have put a larger bed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Good location with underground free parking. A few minutes walking distance to the city centre through a slightly down-at-heel shopping precinct, and a Waitrose supermarket close by via an underpass for any extra supplies. Check in via the automated system was as quick and simple as inserting the payment card we used to make the booking - this instantly produced the room key cards. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and comfortable, but for some strange reason the only sink was outside of the bathroom - so you have to wash, shave, brush teeth etc right next to the bed - not a good design idea. Breakfast was excellent.
We did have one issue - my partner and I had purchased a couple of large glasses of wine each from their bar before noticing a standard offer displayed on the tables - buy two large glasses and get the rest of the bottle free. When I asked the bar staff about this they said it was not for them to offer the rest of the bottle with each two glasses purchased, but for me to bring to their attention that i wanted to take advantage of the offer. Clearly a poor customer service which was resolved when I spoke to the manager, who dealt with it in a professional way. Apart from this isolated incident, the staff were excellent, particularly the breakfast team.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room with the sink in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Paid £29 for 1 night and found this hotel to be real value for money. I had no problems with the rooms but found the hotels check in terminal a problem, Staff had to reset the room in order that i could use it to check in. The other problem was the limited parking but you can park outside the hotel for free between 18.30 and 08.00 and all day Sunday.

Room Tip: Try the top floor '12' if you want an excellent view over the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoooeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing