We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Star Trek Doors”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff at St Mary's Gate are superb. The free parking a bonus and the in-house restaurant first class. The sliding door to the toilet though makes you feel like you are on the set of Star Trek. This, coupled with the external sink light illuminating the whole room when you turn it on, upsets the rest of the family. That said we had a great stay and would return.

Room Tip: We had a room on 4th floor but I believe there was some disturbance further up the building as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    380
    92
    21
    13
See reviews for
338
347
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Newish Premier Inn high-rise building with reception on 3rd floor accessed by lift from ground level street entrance. Excellent underground car park, big enough for us to park our loaned Sedona this time and our normal Caddy last time.

Great location for several of the great Music Venues in Sheffield and for The Moor shopping area (if that's your idea of fun :D)

The staff here are great it's a happy ship and they remembered us from our first visit. The previous December.

Good restaurant, buffet breakfast, but if they are not too busy they cook to order.

Smashing hotel and one of our definite stays list.

(One point to note is that despite what it says on the Premier Inn page for this hotel in "Directions". They do not offer a sitting service for your Pet Koi)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here to attend a wedding nearby for two nights 29th and 30th June. Hotel not too bad to find with sat nav although of course I sailed past it first approach. It's not on the main drag so you need to keep your eyes open for the sign. Parking was in an underground car park with concrete pillars so you had to breathe in when parking. Once parked a smart lift whisked us up to reception on floor 3 where we were assisted to check in electronically by a smiling receptionist. I was with a party of three and had been booked on separate floors but this was changed to the same floor with no problems by the same helpful receptionist who's name I unfortunately can't recall. The rooms where modern and comfy as we have come to expect from the chain, comfy bed in a good sized room, shower and toilet in an en-suite and (surprisingly to me) a wash basin outside the door between the en-suite and the bed. This seemed strange at first but it did mean two people could get ready without getting in each others way. We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and had a very good meal deal so I was happy and so was my wallet. The waiter Aden couldn't have been more helpful, particularly with my mother in law who wanted to eat off menu. Breakfast for both mornings was buffet style, plentiful and restocked quickly as items ran out. Neville our waiter for both breakfasts was helpful, quickly rearranging seating for us, was cheeky and friendly and ensured we had everything we could ask for, in fact all the staff where friendly, professional and courteous making it a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stingytownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
379 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here recently with a friend while visiting Chatswrth House
A bit tricky to find with no Sat Nav, but fairly centrally located.
Safe on site parking underground with a lift direct to reception
Superb staff- super efficient, really friendly.
We were the only people in the restaurant that night and spent a long time chatting to the waitress who obviously loved her job and was very sociable.
The reception lady was als helpful and printed us out maps for our journey
All in all a great stay and at £29 for a room on a Sunday, fantastic value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekenderinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The room was a standard premier in room so your going to be able to get a good nights sleep. Upon arrival there was secure underground parking and lifts up to check in. All the staff there were extremely friendly and helpful. Emma and Alex made me feel very welcome while at the bar in the evening and also in the morning. I would very happily go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

really liked this premier inn, the nicest one i have stayed in. fresh, modern, pleasant staff, lovely bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJWinter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

very warm welcome, arrived late but could still get a meal at 9.45pm which turned up promptly and was tasty and hot, comfortable clean room, sink in bedroom but not an issue as could still clean teeth while partner was in the loo. Clean en-suite, nice big shower. Extra pillows in the room. Excellent variety for cooked and cold breakfasts, speedy and friendly service, for a value hotel I think this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Possibly quieter if you go higher>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing