We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for city centre”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A supurb City center hotel, modern, clean comfortable. Secure car parking. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with large shower, crisp white bed linen, various grades of pillow, tea/coffee making facilities and friendly helpful staff. We paid the £29 per night for Sunday and Monday which was amazing value for a hotel so near to the Center of Sheffield. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    371
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
326
340
96
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

They're springing up everywhere. hardly surprising given the great value for money, fantastic service and most comfortable beds in hotel-land. This Premiere Inn may be a bit out of the city centre but with it's secure underground car park it has everything you need for a stop over in Sheffield.

The usual courteous welcome, bags looked after when arriving early, a well presented breakfast buffet and clean fresh rooms, this is another great Premier Inn.

Unfortunate that they're replacing the much-loved baths with showers in the newer hotels but of the budget options, still the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

always want a bath in my room but here they dont have them we were here for a leaona lewis concert bar good size drinks ok price food not good really chicken was well over cooked good location for city hall would use again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is probably the best Premier Inn I have stayed in, it's quite new, beds are comfortable, room is always clean and the walk-in showers are excellent.
I like the electronic check in machines and I particularly like the secure underground car park which is free!
Not sure about the food 'cause I never eat there....there is such a variety of places to choose from nearby on London Road that I always go out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed with my partner for one night a few weeks ago after a gig at the Leadmill, which was an easy five minute walk away along the road. The hotel is situated very well for Bramall Lane, and there were many people staying at the hotel for the Snooker World Championships at the Crucible, so one would assume that it is also fairly close. Check in was almost instant and the staff were courteous and helpful, and the room was, as expected, standard Premier Inn. Large bed, TV, shower etc, however the hand basin was situated outside of the bathroom, which seemed somewhat strange. Before the event, we ate at the restaurant in the hotel, where the food was good (albeit expensive). The evening staff were again friendly, but a little slow, especially seeing as there was only two or three others in the restaurant at the time. In the morning we ate again at the breakfast, and this was a remarkable change from the evening before. The breakfast was fantastic, although again the Premier Inn full breakfast is expensive. The staff on in the morning were brilliant - extremely helpful and genuinely friendly, and the coffee from the Costa machine was extremely nice. A pleasant end to an otherwise average stay. The trip cost £55 for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

great central location with added benefit of on site secure parking all members of the team very professional and extremely pleasant and welcoming the room was spotless and one of the best nights sleep ive ever had in one of there hotels will definitely return and look forward to doing so soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The thing Is with Premier inns etc on a Saturday night you are Inevitably going to either get a Stag or Hen do........(and noise..!!)
Dong get me wrong the Hotel Is lovely and clean the staff are friendly and polite, the rooms are very nice too, my other moan Is that Premier inn are pricey for what you get...!! single occupancy Double room with breakfast £88.00.....!! Restaurant and bar Is expensive, meals are too pricey for what you get, was over charged for something I did not receive also......
Premier Inn promise you a good night sleep or your money back.....I had one or 2 stag do revellers come back to their room(s) at 2.45 am and one put his TV on that loud I had to bang on the wall to let him know he had woke me, thankfully he turned It down...!! then a family leaving at 6am forgot to tell their child to either be quiet or not to talk In the corridor, the lad was talking loudly all down the corridor and not once did the parents think to tell him to be quiet..!!
I could of done without these disturbances when I had to be up at 7am for a day ahead of work....!! I guess that you sometimes get this with big hotels.....!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing