We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“University Open Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“University Open Day”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Easy to find + park .Clean, well maintained, comfortable , Excellent attitudes from pleasant and helpful staff Superb value for money. Ideal location for City Centre + University highly recommended .Will not hesitate to use again if returning to Shefield


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and well maintained and the team to be very friendly and helpful with great attitudes.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team who are looking forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    380
    92
    21
    13
See reviews for
338
347
96
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxord, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on a £29 room rate for 2 adults and 1 child which is excellent value. This is one hotel that PI gets right, i.e. good location, free parking (just take care with very narrow entrance), quiet up on the 9th floor, both lifts working (most of the time), great and friendly staff, and importantly for us a dedicated restaurant so that we are not at the whim of TableTable, TGI Fridays etc where breakfast is often poor in my experience. If we were in Sheffield again, would definitley stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor in room 912 at the end of the corridor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay and for the lovely comments you made.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, right from the great value, good city centre location with free parking to our friendly staff and great restaurant.

I am so happy to hear that you would choose to stay with us again.
Myself and my team really look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as a family of 4. Spacious rooms. 4th pull out bed was, as usual, very uncomfortable but did ask for another duvet to place on as a mattress topper. 3 mins to the bottom of the Moor and 10 mins to city centre (Peace Gardens) We were able to park on the two occasions we needed to, and reception said if all spaces full they can usually find a solution. Overall great location for visiting Sheffield

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen-Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regadring your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, that you found the beds to be comfortable and the room spacious and that it was an ideal location for your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was just a standard hotel nothing special just average. It is ok for one night alone but wouldnt recommend for family. The location is great as its in the city and easy access from the station. Will probably come again for my uni course.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I was happy to hear you found our location to be suitable for your needs and that you would choose to stay with us again when you come to Sheffield for your uni course (we do have alot of guests staying with us who are visiting / attending the university)

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently stayed At Premier Inn St Marys Gate Sheffield.Top marks to staff in all areas.These guys really care about providing a friendly,professional service.We had a problem with the AC units on the roof providing architecturally transmitted noise and vibration above our bedroom (12th floor)when we reported this,we were given another room and our fee refunded for that evening.
Rooms in both cases were well maintained,clean and comfortable.Great hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyranger912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I am sorry that you were initially disturbed by the noise from our AC units, I am pleased however to hear that the situation was dealt with in a friendly and professional manner and you were happy with the outcome overall.

I really hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, especially for the very reasonable price. No-frills, basic room obviously, but everything as good as it could be: efficient check-in, friendly reception, comfortable beds, good pillows, quiet, safe, clean, secure parking, good location. Will stay here next time.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank s0mersetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback you have recently given regarding your stay with us here at St Mray's Gate.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be in an ideal location for your requirments and that you were pleased with our secure free parking.
Myself and the team are happy to hear you found the check in process to be quick and easy and the service you given was friendly and helpful.

Premier Inn have recently invested a substantial amount of money in rolling out new beds and pillows to all of our hotels so I am very pleased to hear that you found the bed and the pillows to be very comfy and hopefully helped towards a great nights sleep!

Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Premier Inn and had two really rest full nights. The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean and tidy with all you require. The breakfast is self service (eat as much as you like) and was very good. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob1Cheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly B, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for the kind feedback you have given regarding your recent stay with us here at St Mary's Gate.

I am delighted to hear that you found the team to be friendly and helpful, the rooms to be clean and tidy and that you had all you required.

I was also pleased to hear that you had 2 restful nights with us and enjoyed our 'all you can eat' buffet breakfast.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing