We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the city centre and comfortable too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It is many years since we last stayed in a Premier Inn - but it won't be so long before we use this chain again and we hope the other hotels are as good as this one. Conveniently situated only 15 minutes walk from the city centre with free parking (limited and available on a first come first served basis) made this the ideal place to stay for one night while visiting to attend a concert at The City Hall. On arrival the receptionist was welcoming and friendly and check in was easy and quick. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm. Because this hotel was not originally a Premier Inn, it has a rather strange layout in as much as the wash basin is in the bedroom rather than in the Shower/WC - but this was not a problem. The bed was comfortable, the shower was warm and powerful and there was no excessive noise. The All you can eat breakfast for £8.95 represents good value if you use this as your main meal and offered a good choice of the usual breakfast fayre - including traditional English breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, muffins, crumpets, croissants etc. The coffee was provided from a Costa machine and was surprisingly good. The waiter in the restaurant area was helpful and attentive and on check out the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and slept well. Full marks for this inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wan2binthedales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

stayed at St Mary's gate premier inn in Sheffield on overnight visit to see Russell Watson concert. Great place to stay. Beds comfortable, rooms clean, no noise. Staff were lovely. Very friendly and very helpful. Definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for one night, best price around and ideally located for City centre. Friendly staff and service was very good. Breakfast was reasonably priced, buffet was topped up regularly and was ideal after a night out on the town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Does everything it says on the tin. Quality hotel, good location (just around the corner to the city centre and 5 minutes walk to train station) and value for money. Meal quality in particular is excellent in terms of quality, and quantity and unlike some places I have eaten - it was served very hot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

No surprises at this city centre Premier Inn, the service and facilities were of the high standard we expect from the chain. Situated on the ring road this particular hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, as well as Sheffield University and Sheffield Hallam (useful for visits to university open days). Parking spaces are limited (though we didn't have a problem) and free which is a bonus. The hotel isn't in the most attractive location but was convenient for our needs. We had dinner and breakfast during our overnight stay, neither of which we had pre-booked. Both meals were of a high standard and the restaurant staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromewithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel for a friends birthday celebration. Ideally situated for a city centre stay, being close to some good bars, nightlife and a nice walk to the Town Hall area and Peace Gardens.
We used the express computerized check in which works perfect. We stayed on the 5th floor, room was a lovely size, nice comfy bed, the sink being in the bedroom didn't really cause a problem, the shower was really impressive. We did have a very disturbed nights sleep though caused by the sliding door leading into the bathroom which made a horrendous noise when opened, and a noisy group of people banging on doors and shouting to awake members of their party between 0710 - 0740 hrs which was not the hotels fault.
We registered our complaints with reception on departure who were extremely polite and helpful as were all the staff who could not be faulted.
The car park at the hotel is a huge bonus as well
We will definitely be staying again and I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolz-n-Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My partner and I have stayed here on many occasions, my partner singly over a period of months and both of us together for weekends in Sheffield. The Premier Inn has always been a convenient place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and work really hard. The rooms are of a good standard...and the beds...oh the beds..sooo comfy!!

Room Tip: If there is a problem just say, staff will always try to help. It is a good night guaranteed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janerogers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing