We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Premiere inn experience to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Premiere inn experience to date!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here after having pleasant experiences with the brand in the past. I found the service to be the best i have received in along time. From check in, all the team did their best to make us feel welcome and every employee we came across asked us about our visit, why we here, where we plan on going next etc. The room was very clean and the use of space in the room made it a much bigger area. We only experienced the breakfast meal but it gets top marks for attention to detail and pride in service. Our point of contact was a very helpful man who took pride in his work and genuinely made us feel welcome. Although we got down to the breakfast quite late on with service coming to a close our waiter, (We think he was called Neville but we do know he looks like the bloke from the program 'Don't Get Done Get Dom') made sure fresh food came out and everything was replenished. As you can tell we were very impressed and would recommend the establishment to anyone looking for an overnight stay in Sheffield.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    374
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
330
340
96
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed one night and the whole experience was faultless. Premier Inn staff are always pleasant, courteous and efficient. First rate value for money - free, secure parking, very comfortable mattress and well appointed room, excellent breakfast choice and again first class service. SO nice to know that you will always be well treated and receive first class service for a fraction of the cost of some so called superior establishments. Great credit to PREMIER INN for staff training and delivering time after time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for the weekend. The staff were great as my son was ill and they where very supportive and helpful/ would definitely stay here again. Rooms are a good size and easily situated for the center of Sheffield

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markie1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have used this hotel several times now and have always had very pleasant, peaceful and trouble free stay. Secure parking a big plus. Shower only rooms might be a problem for some but they are good showers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

It is many years since we last stayed in a Premier Inn - but it won't be so long before we use this chain again and we hope the other hotels are as good as this one. Conveniently situated only 15 minutes walk from the city centre with free parking (limited and available on a first come first served basis) made this the ideal place to stay for one night while visiting to attend a concert at The City Hall. On arrival the receptionist was welcoming and friendly and check in was easy and quick. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm. Because this hotel was not originally a Premier Inn, it has a rather strange layout in as much as the wash basin is in the bedroom rather than in the Shower/WC - but this was not a problem. The bed was comfortable, the shower was warm and powerful and there was no excessive noise. The All you can eat breakfast for £8.95 represents good value if you use this as your main meal and offered a good choice of the usual breakfast fayre - including traditional English breakfast, cereals, yoghurts, muffins, crumpets, croissants etc. The coffee was provided from a Costa machine and was surprisingly good. The waiter in the restaurant area was helpful and attentive and on check out the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and slept well. Full marks for this inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wan2binthedales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

stayed at St Mary's gate premier inn in Sheffield on overnight visit to see Russell Watson concert. Great place to stay. Beds comfortable, rooms clean, no noise. Staff were lovely. Very friendly and very helpful. Definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for one night, best price around and ideally located for City centre. Friendly staff and service was very good. Breakfast was reasonably priced, buffet was topped up regularly and was ideal after a night out on the town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing