We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Air conditioned modern room, strangely, basin in the bedroom not in the bathroom, good parking facilities, reception on 3rd floor, very friendly staff, good restaurant for dinner and buffet breakfast. Small tv, good location for central Sheffield, safe and secure with lift locks and extra security on corridors. Half hour free wifi, still begrudge having to pay for slow wifi though, after the half hour! Overall though, pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5-star-expected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review, it's lovely to hear you found our team very friendly and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

As with previous visits to this chain we had great service, friendly staff, lovely food and a very good night sleep. I always look for a 'moon hotel' as the kids call it, whenever we have to stay away for a night in the UK.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

I'm so pleased to hear that Premier Inn is your preferred choice and that we lived up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you and your family back if you find yourselves back in Sheffield.

Thank you for your review,

Moon Hotel, Sheffield CC St Mary's Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

As you'd expect from Premier Inn, good quality room and hotel at a decent rate. Room and bed were comfortable, my only quiblle would be that a lighter quilt would've been preferable but as there is air con I suppose it's a moot point. I'll stay here again if I visit Sheffield again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

I'm pleased to hear that we met your expectations when you stayed with us and that you would choose to stay with us again in the future. Although we do not have summer quilts currently, we do provide extra sheets if requested at reception during the summer period for our guests, so for future reference please do not hesitate to ask a member of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We first stayed here in July.. And we loved it so we're back for more!

The room is always clean :) the shower in big and very enjoyable on a morning or when you're getting ready to go out!

This time we rang to ask if we could park my car in the car park early and then check in and 2pm, and they said they could get us into our room now if we went to reception! Very very helpful :)

Car parking is limited but we usually get the train the Sheffield!

Will deffo be coming back again and again!

Plus it's walking distance to corp! So I'm happy :)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Homozygous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It's great to hear from one of our returning guests and that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you for your comments regarding our team and I am delighted to know that you will be using us when you come back to Sheffield. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for our daughters graduation. The staff were very helpful and let us into 1 of our rooms early so we could all get ready after a long drive. Very central and a short walk to Ecclesall Road for a good choice of restaurants. Parking was easy with an underground car park attached to the hotel. A very comfy bed, good size shower and extra tea/ coffee etc available at reception. Excellent value for money and great for families

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank penej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review, it's lovely to hear that you found our team very helpful and our hotel perfect for your visit. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently, and it was decent, and excellent value at £29 a night.

Bar price - pint of Carling was £3.70

Plus and minus points...

+ Good Location. It's very close to town, and handy for the bars/restaurants along Eccleshall Street too.

+ Very quiet. There were no door slammers or stamping feet. Seems to be well soundproofed.

+ Has both aircon and heating with separate controls (though this has the side-effect of both being on at the same time on occasion as the defaults are set to the same temperature). Nice to have complete control however.

+ Bed super comfy.


- Shower Pressure. On both mornings, during my shower, the water became scalding hot due to temporarily reduced pressure (presumably a nearby room was also using the shower).

- TV. It's really small, and is a flat screen but 4:3 ratio so most programmes are even smaller due to the letterboxing.


Overally, pretty good and I'd definitely stay here again next time I'm in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pspr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Premier Inn, I'm pleased to hear you had a good stay and would choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your comment with regards to your showers I shall investigate this with our maintenance team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here over the weekend for the Tramlines festival- for which the location is very good.
We were on the 6th floor and there was little noise.
It was a typical Premier Inn - except that the hotel only has showers, not a bath, and the wash basin is sited in the main room. Otherwise, you get a kettle and a few sachets of tea coffee (with refills in reception), a hair dryer, TV and plenty of lights. No iron or fridge (but you should know this if you read the details).
The room was decent sized and kept clean and replenished.
Only down side for us was that the twin bedded room was a double bed and a put you up bed, we were told that this was the only type of "twin room" they had.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bettyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine W, Manager at Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
1,538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel

Address: Young Street, Sheffield S1 4UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £45 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Hotel Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) is exactly as its name suggests. Smack dab in the middle of one of the UK's most exciting and vibrant cities, with plenty for tourists and business travellers to enjoy. Enjoy a break strolling through one of the greenest cities in Europe, or watch a 147 break at the Snooker World Championships. Take your pick from hundreds of bands during the Tramlines Festival, or take your time wandering through the Cathedral Quarters. Then it's back to the hotel for a meal at our onsite restaurant, and seriously comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing