We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immersive space experience!”

Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield
Ranked #20 of 63 Fun & Games in Sheffield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cryptology Sheffield Offers The Ultimate Escape Games In South Yorkshire Bring your friends, family, and colleagues for an endlessly surprising and fun day at Cryptology Sheffield. Each of our bespoke games have been crafted carefully with immersion, fun, and challenge in mind. You’ll be whisked away to anything from the far reaches of space to other incredible places!
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 24 September 2018

As avid escape room fans, we were keen to try out Sheffield's newest escape room, and it's safe to say we were not disappointed! This was one of the best escape rooms we've ever done, the whole experience was fab!

First of all, theme- The room is called First Contact, and it is a very space-agey theme, which is reflected brilliantly in the decor. The aesthetics are great, and the room is a generous size, making it feel like you really could be on board a spaceship. The puzzles are all linked in really well with the theme, making full use of the spaceship to complete tasks in order to successfully complete the mission within the hour.

The puzzles/challenges themselves are nicely varied and of a sufficient difficulty level- there is lots of interaction involved and working out which items/pieces of information etc go together. There is plenty to do in the time which works great if you have come as a larger team, like we did, but it would definitely work well for smaller groups too- I'd just say communication is key to managing to get through the room. There is an element of choice in this escape room which I have not come across before, which allows your team to determine the end section of the game, and which puzzles you will need to face to complete the mission. This is a great addition to the escape game, which allowed for an extra layer of challenge to push ourselves at the end- leading to us becoming the first team to have successfully made First Contact!

The host was brilliant- highly enthusiastic and clearly great at what he does. After our game, he was telling us about his plans for the next room about Hugh Dunnit, and we will certainly be returning when that room becomes available. Great immersive storyline, lots of fun varied challenges and a lovely host made for one of the best escape room experiences we've had to date! Couldn't recommend playing this room enough! Thank you!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Aislinnggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Blood, Sweat and Tears.....All worth it when we have a group that enjoys our own brand of escape adventure!

This spurs us on to crack on and give you all more!

Many Thanks....We're not worthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sci"
in 6 reviews
"mission"
in 3 reviews
"spaceship"
in 3 reviews
"hints"
in 2 reviews
"barnsley"
in 3 reviews
"challenges"
in 3 reviews
"puzzles"
in 8 reviews
"immersive"
in 5 reviews
"tastic"
in 2 reviews
"loads"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018

The First Contact escape room here is hands down the most amazing escape room or group activity I've ever seen. The story was completely immersive and creative, every detail in the room was really well made and professional. The puzzles themselves were really interesting, with hardly any reliance on standard 4 digit padlocks. Compared to other escape rooms, this one was the most fun I've had as the nature of the puzzles created a real sense urgency that left all our of our group really excited. The staff made sure that they gave us hints/help at the right opportunities that definitely avoided some heated arguments between team members!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank AlisonP091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

I am so glad you like our little bit of the universe that we have brought to Sheffield! We hope to see you again soon for 'The Mysterious Case of Hugh Dunnit'.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, makes it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Attended yesterday with a group of 4 - the room was superb. The decor was brilliant, it really helped with the immersion. A lot of work has gone into this room! The puzzles were challenging, but logical and again perfect for the theme.

The story itself is very well put together. Some great sci-fi touches!

Can't wait until they open their next room here - we will definitely be back.

Thank you!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for the positive feedback and glad you had a superb time in space!

We look forward to seeing you again soon for 'The Mysterious Case of Hugh Dunnit'

Regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Cryptology to try out the new sci-fi room at Sheffield. It was very interactive with lots of different challenges that required you to work as a team.
The owner was really helpful with the clues when we got stuck and even took the time to explain different parts to us after.
We will definitely be return when the next room opens!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank EmmaH2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

YAY, many thanks and glad you had a great time.

We feel, if the player wants to find out some information to help them in future rooms, then we will take the time to help!

Look forward to seeing you again soon when room two is complete, but Hugh Dunnit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We had played at Cryptology Barnsley quite some time back and were really impressed with the rooms and also recently headed to Cryptology Nottingham too, which didn't disappoint at all. So when we saw Cryptology were opening in Sheffield we took advantage of the opening discount and booked in right away to play the sci-fi game First Contact.

We have played a lot of rooms now (200+) and we were impressed with the build and look of First Contact. You can tell it's taken a lot of time and effort to get the room looking this good! There was a lot to get through and we stumbled at times but don't worry, you're not left fending for yourselves on this spaceship, you will receive help from your host....not by the usual screen system or walkie talkie that you get in other escape rooms though, but via a method totally in keeping with the theme of the room.

A stunning looking room with great interactive and slightly physical puzzles. Simon, the owner, is a fellow enthusiast and cares deeply about his rooms and this shows strongly here. We'll be back for future rooms!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank BlueSam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

What fantastic feedback and it makes it all worthwhile to hear from such experienced players! More to rooms to follow and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing