We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 20:30
Review Highlights
Host made the visit

We took part in the Hugh Dunnit Murder Mystery room as the friendly staff had previously advised us... read more

Reviewed 7 April 2024
Skinnyjefd
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great time with friends

Went as a group of friends doing First Contact as a 3 and then Afterlife as a 5. Both rooms were... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2024
Sockless_Feet
Read all 135 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
133
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
133
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery all round great experience interesting puzzles immersive experience an amazing host these guys great fun game master stag do great game robyn sci hugh clues hints keaton games
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2019

Went to Cryptology as a couple. We have done over 30 escape rooms and this one is up there with the best! The decor is brilliant - lots of other rooms are quite sparse so you know that everything you see you will have to use but this one is beautifully decorated to fit the sci-fi theme without being overly confusing. The design is slick, but the quality of the puzzles don't suffer for it (often it's a case of you can have one but not both). Lots of different kinds of puzzles, and not a number lock in sight (my thumbs are grateful). Brilliant hosting, too, with clues perfectly gauged to help nudge us along without feeling like we were being spoon fed, and delivered in an innovative way that really ties in with the theme. Withing spoiling it, there's something about it that's very unique! Haven't come out of an escape room on such a high for a while! Can't fault it.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Jenny57392
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

It was fantastic to host you both and glad you came out of our escape room with such a good feeling!

Kind Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019

We were invited back by Cryptology to try their latest game Hugh Dunnitt. They made it clear to us that there were a couple of things that needed to be sorted but honestly we could not tell!
This is a murder mystery game with a twist and the twist is amazing!
Had a good chat with Simon afterwards and we cannot wait for the next game they are creating too!

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank jbreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to review our independent escape room experience. It makes it worth all the effort.

Kind Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

First ever escape room attempt from all of us and we couldn't have had a better time.

Simon, our host was engaging, entertaining and informative.

The game itself (First Contact) is very immersive and really puts you in the idea that the fate of the world rests in your hands.

It would have been better had we not being about 10 minutes behind schedule and failed the fate of the 7 billion people at home.

Overall this game is brilliant and we would all highly recommend trying it, and future games all sound incredible.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank zebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

People of Earth may be no more, but this review will live on!

Kind Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

We had a great time today at this escape room. We’ve done a few rooms and this one didn’t disappoint. A slightly different take on an escape room and lots to do. Interesting theme and every second counts. Would highly recommend and everyone in our group enjoyed themselves (age range from 13-68!)

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Gillinghamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

I'm glad you appreciated our unique take on the escape room genre and hope to welcome you back for some murder mystery!

Kind Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

I have done about 20 escape rooms now, and First Contact was the most original one I have done. It wasn't your typical padlocks and codes. We unfortunately didn't escape but it didn't take away the enjoyment. Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Gemguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler816645, Owner at Cryptology Escape Rooms Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

As we say you don't fail if you have fun!

Kind Regards

Simon@Cryptology

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews