We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #19 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner and breakfast at weekend we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have eaten at several of the Bistrot Pierre chain and every time I am pleased with the food and service. Menu is small but there is something for everyone and over the last few years I have never had a bad meal in any of their restaurants.

The disappointing thing about the Sheffield venue is that it is at the wrong end of Eccleshall Road! The trendy buzzy places (both chain and independent) are at the other end nearer to the town centre and so by the time you get to Pierre it is a very quiet vibe. Although we ate there on a Saturday lunchtime there were only a handful of other diners in with us, compared to the queues outside others further into town.

On the upside however there is a good car park behind it and if you want somewhere quiet and relaxed to eat with friends it is ideal.

Always good value for money if you haven't tried a Bistrot Pierre give it a go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien A, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you for your review. I'm really happy that you have always had a good experience whenever you have visited us. We really appreciate all your comments and hope to be seeing you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    168
    35
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dronfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“60th birthday meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Another excellent visit. The choice of food suited everyone and the birthday champagne was very welcome. Our young lady guest was spoilt with her own cocktail so she wasn't left out.The service was attentive without being too much so and one of the staff volunteered to take a group photo when we were taking ones of each other. Each course was well received and we will go back again. Thank you Julien and team.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mozzieDronfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien A, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mozzie,

Thank you for your review, I'm really happy you had another great experience with us especially for such a special occasion! We really appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“High-quality French bistrot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'm amazed that this restaurant is only ranked 64th in Sheffield. Although I'm not a local, I would find its quality very hard to beat.

We found the bistrot purely by accident, having googled 'restaurants in Ecclesall Road'. How lucky we were to find this. The menu was very imaginative, and the dishes delicious: we had the carpaccio and warm goat's cheese salad to start; followed by duck confit. Everything was cooked to perfection and served by a charming French lady.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien A, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Chrisbatt,

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad that you accidentally stumbled upon our restaurant! I'm really happy you had such a great first experience with us, I really hope that if you are ever back in Sheffield you will be visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Constently good food with very good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

An adventurous bistro with a menu offering consistently reliable quality food.
It also has special monthly gastro events which offer interesting dishes and excellent value .
The 4 of us had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with young, friendly efficient staff looking after our every need helping to create a great atmosphere.
Another hit for Sheffield !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien A, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear William,

Thank you for your great review and for your lovely comments on the service, I'm really happy you had such a nice time. I'm also glad to see you have been enjoying our special six course gastro nights, hopefully we will be seeing you for one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely elevated dining experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We decided to bring the in-laws here as they're pretty fussy and it looked like a good, solid menu.

When we arrived, we were taken upstairs to the restaurant (it's a bar downstairs), which is unexpectedly atmospheric. It definitely has a quaint and french feel about it, the decoration and lighting. What I especially liked was the elevation above the ground that you felt, which was enhanced by the glass walls that you could look down through at the street below whilst dining.

So the food, we were given a complimentary bread basket, though the bread was a tad stale and the butter flavourless. But I can forgive that, as it was free and didn't ruin my visit.

Next came our starters, I ordered a pâté, which was good in its coarse consistency and it had lovely pistachio flakes worked through it, but it lacked seasoning. Just a pinch more would have brought out all the flavour of the ingredients. Other starters ordered were the asparagus, which was delicious.

The main courses: I had a steak salad, simple, light and full of flavour. The steak was cooked perfectly, sliced very thinly and I gobbled it up. No complaints. Other mains ordered were steak, lemon chicken and roasted pork. All were great, the pork especially so as the balance of apple and pork was just right. We all cleaned our plates!

Now for the staff, they were very professional, efficient and at no time did I witness anyone having a chat whilst customers were waiting for their attention, so good service overall. Will be visiting again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien A, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ashton,

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate all your detailed comments about the food and service, I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and that you will be coming back. I hope you will be visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing