We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FORGET PREVIOUS REVIEWS - REVAMPED AND WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montgomery Hotel

Montgomery Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montgomery Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FORGET PREVIOUS REVIEWS - REVAMPED AND WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We booked this hotel last year for our wedding in September 2011, as we are on a tight budget we decided we would make do as it didn't seem as bad as the reviews stated but we warned people it was run down and didn't advise people to stay. We went last night to confirm details and met the new management. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! Within 6 weeks of taking over it looks like a new hotel, there is still work to do but if what has already been done is anything to go by this will be a fantastic hotel. The efficiency, enthusiasm and understanding of Sarah was a breath of fresh air. The bedrooms are now clean and more modern, the bar is having new drinks introduced including real ales and the place in general looks bright and welcoming. We can't wait for our wedding reception now and are definately recommending the hotel for people staying overnight.

Room Tip: Tell them exactly what you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happynow46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
16
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This place is a complete rip off and a total nightmare. They charge up market prices for a very down market place! It is old fashioned, tired, in need of a complete refurb, the decor is grubby (layers of dust on lampshades, lightbulbs, curtains etc). I would NEVER stay here again and advise you not to stay here either. There was only one plus point - the receptionist, who seemed to be doing everything, answering the phone, helping us, carrying luggage, cleaning, tidying. She was helpful, polite, friendly, and willing to pull out all the stops to help us. Thank you! God knows why she stays in such a dog hole?

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank teddybear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

I totally agree with the comments made by Plu53. There is really nothing else to be said. I have travelled throughout the world and can honestly say this is definately the worst room I have had to sleep in! Surely this would not pass basic hygene standards?
Do not contemplate staying here unless you are desperate as indeed we were!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneMarske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

I recently went to watch U" in Sheffield and, unfortunately, chose this hotel to stay in. I began to have doubts about my choice when I had to steer around a bag of rubbish to gain entry to the car park. The car park itself contained piles of rubbish, including old televisions, a huge rusty van, broken furniture and a dead rodent which looked like it had been there for a long time. The receptionist, however, was very nice and our check in was quick. We were directed to a building next to the main hotel. We went up to the first floor via a staircase that was covered with a dirty old carpet which had a huge tear in at the top of the stairs (very dangerous). The walls of our bedroom were covered in old wood chip (which had been on for years) and big cracks! The old brown frilly lampshade was thick with dust and the once white paintwork was now a yellowy brown. The bed sheets looked and felt clean, however, the valances looked as though they had not been laundered for a long time and we dare not look too closely at the pillows or mattresses. The room had tea and coffee making facilities but the kettle was black with dirt. We had a wardrobe - but no coat hangers. The ensuite was lit by a very dim bulb but this could have been a blessing in disguise! The toilet and sink did actually look quite clean -we could tell from overpowering smell of bleach that they had recently been cleaned! The walls were half tiled and half covered in thick black mould and huge cracks! The shower looked so old and grubby that we dare not step into it. We decided not to risk eating the breakfast which was only served until 9:00 am. When we were checking out a couple who had been staying in the main part of the hotel were also complaining about the poor standard of the rooms - so it wasn't just the building we were in! If it hadn't been for the fact that all the hotels in Sheffield were full because of the U2 concert we would have asked for our money back when we first saw the room. So all I can say is DO NOT STAY AT THIS 'HOTEL'!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hednesford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

this hole is awful the room we had stank , the windows had to be wedged open, the shower never worked in either of the rooms we booked, the breakfast was awful. the hotel is like a rundown doss house, its an outrage we payed £60 for the nite. the only plus point was the lady on reception who was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miffas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.6 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montgomery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montgomery Hotel

Property: Montgomery Hotel
Address: 21-23 Montgomery Road | Nether Edge, Sheffield S7 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Hotel Class:3 star — Montgomery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing